Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute (MTBI)

To see the full text of an item, click on either the  "full text" or "PDF" link given in the reference.  

If there is no "full text" or "PDF" link, look for the yellow "Get It @ ASU" button; this service list the delivery options available to you.  

On the ASU Library's website, the frequently used databases are listed at the bottom of the center column for quick access.  All of the 300+ databases to which the ASU Library subscribes are accessible via the "Research Databases" link on the gray navigation bar. 

Recommended Research Databases for: 

• All Subjects
• Biology and Medicine
• Computer Science, Physics, and Engineering
• Mathematics 

1. Library One Search
   The ASU Library main search engine; covers a variety of subject areas and material types.  Once you have searched your topic, use the "Content Type" limiter in the left column, to restrict the results to just "journal articles" (or whatever other content you'd like to include).
    

    

    
   
   
    
2. Google Scholar
   Covers whatever scholarly material publishers make available on the web.  One of the few databases that searches the full text of items.   This version of Google Scholar is set to give the ASU Library's "Get It @ ASU" link.  
    
   • For those from other universities, if you would like to have your library's "Linker" displayed in addition to ASU's, click on the "settings" icon on the main page, then in the left column, click on "library links" and put your university's name in the box.   Save, and now you'll see your own library's links as well as "Get It @ ASU"
      
   • Want to be able to export a citation to your citation management software?  Click on the "settings" icon on the main page, then use the Bibliography Manager to select the appropriate software or format.  Save, and now you'll see a exporting link for each item in your results set.
     
      
3. Web of Science
   Covers the world's leading journals from the humanities, social sciences as well as science, engineering and technology. ASU Library only subscribes to the "Web of Science Core Collection."   

• Biosis Previews 
  Covers journal articles, conference papers and reports in all areas of the life scicences plus biochemistry and biotechnology. 
  
  
• PubMed
  Covers journal articles from the medical literature.
  
  
• Complete List of all Biology Databases available at the ASU Library 
  75 databases covering the Life Sciences

• ACM Digital Library
  Covers articles from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines, and conference proceedings; the full text of these items are within the database.    This database also includes the ...
  

  ACM Guide to Computing Literature
  Once you've done a search in the ACM Digital Library, you'll see an optional link at the top of the results list to expand the search beyond the ACM publications to include articles from other publishers in the computing science area.   The full text of these additional items will not be within the database.  To find these other items in the ASU Library, copy and paste the title of the item into "Library One Search".
  
  

• Compendex
  Covers journal articles and conference papers from all areas of engineering.  You can search both Compendex and Inspec databases at the same time - make sure both database boxes (just above the search boxes) on the main screen are checked. 
  
  
• IEEEXplore
  Covers all applications of electrical engineering and contains the full text of  Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) books, journal articles, conference papers and industry standards.   Also includes some Institution of Engineering and Technology (ITE) publications.
  
  
• Inspec 
  Covers the areas of physics, electrical engineering, and computing sciences; includes journal articles and conference proceedings.  You can search both Compendex and Inspec databases at the same time - make sure both database boxes (just above the search boxes) on the main screen are checked. 
  

• MathSciNet
  Covers journal articles and books from all areas of mathematics.