ArchiveFinder Archive Finder includes ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland. It is a current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and United Kingdom. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS), along with the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK & Ireland). The archival material noted in this collection ranges from pre-historic to modern.
Center for Research Libraries CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
Declassified Documents Reference System - US
(1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc
Defining Gender Online: 1450 - 1910 This database brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, the following are currently available: Section I: Conduct and Politeness - Available; Section II: Domesticity and the Family - Available
Early English Books Online
(1475-1700) From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short- Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more
This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Literature and Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-63, On-Line
(1957-63) Provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration. Contains 30,000 original documents, as well as five essays on the Macmillan Administration.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) NCCO is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections published during the nineteenth century. It provide acess to rare primary sources, and includes important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Periodical Archive Online (1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and Observer,1791 - 2003
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000 This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website.
Archives & Primary Sources - General
Africans in America
This is an excellent site for resources and primary source materials. It is divided into four segments: The Terrible Transformation, 1450 - 1750; Revolution, 1750 - 1805; Brotherly Love, 1791 - 1831; and Judgment Day, 1831 - 1865
Internet African History Sourcebook Africa is both the most clearly defined of continents - in its geography - and the hardest to pin down in historical terms. On this site historical sources on the history of human societies in the continent of Africa are presented, when available, without making prejudgements about what is "African". This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed below. For more contextual information, for instance about the Islamic world, check out these web sites.
Eurodocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
This site (Harold Lee Library, Brigham Young University) has pointers to documents and full text works for Medieval and Renaissance Europe, Europe as a region, and over twenty countries.The time frame is Medieval to the present. The section for Germany includes a broad range of documents, from the 95 theses of Martin Luther to the 1990 treaty on German unification and some contemporary reports on racism.
Evaluating Primary Source Sites on the Internet
Using Primary Sources on the Web ( from ALA/RUSA)
Evaluating Primary Sources ( From American Memory)How To Read a Primary Source ( from the University of Iowa)
Guidelines for Evaluating Historical Websites
Who: Who is the author or sponsor of the website? Is that person or organization named? Is any supporting documentation available?
What: What is the mission or purpose of the website? Is it clearly articulated? What kinds of materials are on the website? Are they properly cited and acknowledged? What is the document format on the web?
Where: Where is the site located? Is there a physical address with phone number and email address for a contact person? Does the site have a .edu, .org, or .com address?
Why: Why does the site exist? Does it have a point of view or opinion? Is it pedagogical or polemic? Does it want something from you?