Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Africa and Europe

A Guide to the History,Culture and Interactions of these two Continents

Citing Sources

Citing Web Sites

It is important to provide complete information about your primary or secondary source whether found in a printed source or online. The basic elements to include in a citation for a published print source are: author of the document, title of the document, title of the book if different from the document, name of editor or author of the book, place of publication, publisher, year, and page numbers. The basic elements to include in a citation for an online source are: author of the document, title of the document, title of the web site, author or producer of the web site, url, date (if given) and date accessed. Various style formats such as Chicago, MLA and APA put these elements in different order using different conventions. See the following web sites for further information and examples.

Guide to Setting Up and Using RefWorks

How to Create a RefWorks Account

For Additional Refworks Information: RefWorks LibGuide

About RefWorks

RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to create and manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles. More information about RefWorks

Accessing RefWorks

Use of RefWorks requires users to sign up for an individual account at their Website. Keep your Refworks UserID and password handy, and always authenticate from off-campus by entering through the ASU authentication page. First-time users must subscribe for an individual account from this page before accessing your citation management software.

Keep your UserID and password safe! ASU does not have access to the RefWorks system to reset passwords. If you lose your password, follow the reset prompt on the authentication page (link listed above).

Create your own RefWorks account now.

Creating Your Citations Database

Once logged into RefWorks, there are a number of ways to enter your citations:

  • manually via the RefWorks References menu
  • automatically via most ASU Library online resources: follow the RefWorks online help for each of the direct-import vendor resources supported. The list of currently supported databases and import instructions for each vendor resource is available from the RefWorks site Help Index (Building Your Database, Importing from a Text File, Exporting from a Data Service).
  • ASU Library online catalog entries can be searched and added to your citations database directly from the RefWorks Search menu.
  • imported from other citation software formats via the Help Index (Building Your Database, Converting from Other Bibliographic Management Programs).

Hours and Locations