Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Africa and Europe

A Guide to the History,Culture and Interactions of these two Continents

Newspapers and Newspaper Databases

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

African Newspapers - World Newspaper Archive  Part of the World Newspaper Archive, more than 40 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and other locales.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+)  Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media

Nexis Uni  Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.

Newsbank Newsfile Collection (1991+)  Provides fulltext access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer  A digital archive including the Guardian (1821- 2003) and The Observer (1791-2003). More than 212 years of continuous, independent reporting that covers the best in arts, politics, business, and sports.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (U.S.): Provides full text coverage of the newspapers listed below for their respective years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

Hours and Locations