Login to LibApps


Psychology Online: Article Databases & Getting Articles

This guide has specifically been developed to support the Online Psychology program in the New College of Arizona State University.

Start Here for Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
(1975+) Covers a wide range of academic subjects including criminal justice. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.

   Learn It! ASP Tutorial

Google Scholar (thru ASU)
Indexing to thousands of scholarly journal articles and books. Links to journals held at ASU are available. Be sure to use the Advance search option for best results.


For More Targeted Searching...

PsycINFO   (1887+) Includes PsycLIT. Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports. 

   Learn It! PsycINFO Tutorial 

PsycARTICLES
It contains full-text of articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database can also be searched for articles of interest by browsing directly through the journal titles and then clicking to the tables of contents for the respective volumes and issues.

Sociological Abstracts 
(1963+) Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Criminal Justice Abstracts  
(1968+) Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.

Criminology   (A Sage Full-Text Collection)   
(1976+) includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.

ERIC
Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

 


 

Find out who has cited key articles in your field!

 Web of Knowledge - including Social Sciences Citation Index
This research platform includes tools for finding, analyzing and managing information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Google Scholar (thru ASU)
Indexing to thousands of scholarly journal articles and books. Links to journals held at ASU are available. Be sure to use the Advance search option for best results.

 


Link here for a list of additonal, related databases


Finding Articles

When You Are Using a Library Database

1.  Sometimes the article is fulltext in the database you're using!

if not...

2.  Click the  button to see if ASU Library owns the article in another database.

if not online at ASU Library...

3. Choose the InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD Service) option to order your article. It will be delivered to you through your Illiad account, online.

illiad

 


When You Have A Reference for an Article

1.  Go to Journal Title Lookup, enter the JOURNAL title, click on options for getting the fulltext of the article.

For example... Margulis, J. (2008). Good News About Giraffes. Wildlife Conservation, 111(6), 13. Retrieved from EBSCOhost.

2.  ASU Library doesn't have it?  Use the ILLIAD Service

Problems?  Contact AskaLibrarian  

 

Is Your Article Peer Reviewed?

Ulrich's Web
Use this database to find out if your journal is peer-reviewed!

Know an Empirical Research Article When You See One?

Hours and Locations