Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Holocaust Studies

Getting Started: Historical Overviews

The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies, edited by Peter Hayes and John K. Roth, 2010.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia: A multimedia web-based resource that includes articles and bibliographies, personal narratives, and primary sources such as historical film footage and photos. Keyword search box for all materials.  

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe (2008): A comprehensive work that includes primary source materials such as documents, images, streamed audio and video, and maps. See also a print copy.

Yad Vashem Holocaust Resource Center: Alphabetical lexicon and thematically-arranged entries for topics. 

US Holocaust Memorial Museum Bibliographies: Arranged by topics.

Encyclopaedia Judaica: A comprehensive source for Jewish Studies, including many articles about the Holocaust (2nd edition, 2007).


Alphabetical Lexicons

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology. Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen; foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. Print book.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.

Nazi-Deutsch/Nazi-German: an English lexicon of the language of the Third Reich. Robert Michael and Karin Doerr; forewords by Paul Rose, Leslie Morris, Wolfgang Mieder. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.


Additional Encyclopedias

The Encyclopdia of the Holocaust. Israel Gutman, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan, 1990. Print book.

The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust. Martin Gilbert. London; New York: Routledge, 2002. 

Shoʻah: Enciclopedia del Holocausto (Spanish). Robert Rozett y Shmuel Spector, (reds.); director de redacción, Efraim Zadoff; traductores, Elena Cohen Imach [et al.]. Jerusalém: E.D.Z. Nativ ediciones: Yad Vashem, 2004.

Thematic Encyclopedias: Specific Topics

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945: Volume 1; Volume 2United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2009-

Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Editor in chief, Shmuel Spector, Yad Vashem; New York: New York University Press, 2001. Print book. 

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature. Edited by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn.; London: Oryx Press, 2002. Print book.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (search "Holocaust", or "Holocaust, 1933-1945").

Holocaust Literature: A History and Guide. Roskies, David G., and Naomi Diamant. Waltham, Mass: Brandeis University Press, 2012. Print book.

Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work. S. Lillian Kremer, editor. New York: Routledge, 2003. Print book.

Holocaust Survivors: a Biographical Dictionary. Emily Taitz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.