Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Holocaust Studies

Research Databases

Research Databases & Specific Collections (Documents, Images, Audio, Video)

Visual History Archive (Trial Access): Includes 52,000 interviews with Holocaust survivors from 56 countries in 32 languages. Also includes testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide, testimonies of the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, and the Guatamalan Genocide of 1978-1996. The trial ends on April 30, 2017.

YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland: Documents, images, audios and videos documenting Polish Jewry before the Holocaust.

Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (1914-present): The JDC Archive includes records of the American Jewish community's overseas rescue, relief, and rehabilitation activities. The database provides access to digitized text documents, photographs, and curated exhibits.

DigiBaeck (16th Century-present): Digitized collections of the Leo Baeck Institute in New York, documenting the heritage of German-speaking Jews. Includes archival materials, photos, memoirs and manuscripts, books, periodicals, art objects, and audio recordings; as well as Albert Einstein's personal photos, 20th century philosophers, and more.

Judaica Europeana:  A section of European Project that's dedicated to Jewish life in European cities. Includes documents, photos, and online exhibits from libraries and museums in Europe and Israel.


Exploring the Vinius Ghetto: reVilna is a digital mapping project dedicated to understanding how the residents of the Ghetto lived, how the ghetto functioned -- even, given the circumstances, flourished -- how it emerged, and how, ultimately, it was liquidated. Using geographical science and technology, reVilna seeks to reimagine the Vilna Ghetto.

German History in Documents and Images, Nazi Germany: Documents, images and maps. The German Historical Institute, Washington, DC.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Full-text and multimedia files; check out the Selected Sources Sections (left-hand bar). Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, complied by Fordham University (last updated in 1999).

Labor and the Holocaust: the Jewish Labor Committee and the Anti-Nazi Struggle: Jewish Labor Committee Collection at the Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, New York University.

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950: Offers primary source documents about post-war Europe and the refugees. It includes surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations.

A Teachers' Guide to the Holocaust: An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature. The Florida Center of Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida.


Documents
EuroDocs: Includes links and full-text documents covering the European history. Extensive section about Germany. Provided by the Harold Lee Library, Brigham Young University.

Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee: Digitized records of the UUSC, an organization that aided displaced persons in Europe during and after World War II. The Andover-Harvard Theological Library.

Nazi Propaganda: 1933-1945: National Socialist propaganda documents in English translation. The German propaganda Archive, Calvin College.


Photographs

The Lodz Ghetto Photographs of Henryk Ross: Thousands of images from the Henryk Ross collection at the Art Gallery of Ontario, accompanied with four lesson plans and resources related to modern human rights issues.

Roman Vishniac Online Archive: Photos associated with historic time-lines, some videos, and online exhibitions. All photos were taken by Roman Vishniac (1897-1990), starting in 1920s Berlin with urban scenes documenting the rise of Nazi power. Photos from 1935 to 1938 are from Jewish communities in Central and Eastern Europe, where Vishniac represented the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC). Vishniac also photographed Jewish communal and immigrant life in New York during the WWII years, and in 1947 he returned to Europe to document Jewish displaced persons camps.
 
Encyclopaedia Judaica (Second Edition, 2007): Full-text articles, as well as photos. 

From ASU's Collections

Yom Ha-Shoah Holocaust remembrance service at Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church, Sun City West, Arizona, April 13, 1999. A memorial service with guest speaker, Magda Herzberger, author, poet, composer and Holocaust survivor. Performances: Monica Riekoff, Baruch Koritan, Arizona State University Choir. The video is available in streaming

Holocaust Memorial Books (over 250 books), Yiddish and English

Gerda Weissmann and Kurt Klein Papers 1940s-2012 (MSS-347): This collection includes drafts, reader correspondence (mainly junior high and high school students), and other materials documenting Gerda Klein's All But My Life (1957), such as personal correspondence, biographical information, and materials showing the documentary One Survivor Remembers.

Nuremberg Trials

The International Military Tribunal for Germany: Contents of The Nuremberg Trials Collection. The Avalon Projects: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy. Yale University.

Nuremberg Trials Project: Scanned original documents. The Harvard Law School Library.

Nuremberg Trials (1945-1949): Library of Congress.

Thomas J. Dodd Papers - Nuremberg Trials: Materials from the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center, the Storrs Campus of the University of Connecticut. Dodd served as Executive Trial Counsel and supervisor of the U.S. prosecution team at the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg (July 1945–October 1946), where he shaped many of the strategies and policies through which this unprecedented trial took place.

Searching Published Documents

To search anthologies of published sources, go to OneSearch advanced search (linked just below the search box). Put "Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- History" on the first row and adjust your search from All Fields to Subject Terms. Put "Sources" on the second row and and adjust your search to Genre. WorldCat may be searched the same way (advanced search).

The following are just a few items from our collections.

Hours and Locations