Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


BIS Organizational Studies

Guide to research resources for the BIS Organizational Studies program

Related Aids

Journal Title Lookup - If you already have source citations for the articles you want, or you just want to browse a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title, use this lookup tool to see if ASU owns the title you need and how to access it.

Comparison of Article Types - See this for an explanation of how to distinguish between popular magazines, trade journals, and scholarly/academic journals.

Professional Reading

To keep up with the profession, it is helpful to routinely browse the journals in your area of study.  Here are some selected titles that can be browsed online:

Introduction

Article indexes are useful for finding information on organizational studies research, topical issues, and news that has appeared in magazines, journals, newspapers, newswires, and broadcasts.  Select from the following types of indexes as appropriate for your topic:

TIP:  Export search results from these databases to RefWorks to save your research material in a secure account which you can later use to automatically format the bibliography and citations in text for your report using the citation style of your choice. For help see RefWorks Tutorials.

Multidisciplinary Indexes

A multidisciplinary index is often a good place to start looking for articles in cross-disciplinary fields like Organizational Studies. Here you will find a sampling of journals from many fields and be able to retrieve a wide range of material.

The search results will also indicate which fields are relevant to the topic so you can then pick one of the more specialized databases in the sections below to use for further research.

  1. Academic Search Premier (database-ASU access only)
     
  2. Library One Search (database-public search access, full text access for ASU only)
    Searches the contents of the library catalog and a large percentage of the online journals the library subscribes to.
     
  3. ProQuest Databases (database-ASU access only)
    Makes it possible to search across multiple databases provided by ProQuest, including: ABI/Inform, ERIC, PsycInfo, and Sociological Abstracts.
     
  4. Social Science Citation Index in Web of Science  (database-ASU access only)
    Indexes the most influential peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences. A special search feature, Cited Ref Search, can identify articles that cite a previous article to find more current research on that topic or to measure the influence of the original article.
    TIP: De-select the Science Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index before running a search in order to limit the search to the Social Science Citation Index.

Business Indexes

  1. ABI/Inform  (database-ASU access only)
    Accesses articles from periodicals worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. Includes academic journals, trade magazines, the Wall Street Journal, dissertations, company profiles, and industry reports.

  2. Business Insights: Global  (database-ASU access only)
    Formerly Business and Company Resource Center, covers articles in academic business journals, trade magazines, and regional business newspapers.  Also includes investment reports, industry reports, and company histories.

  3. Nexis Uni  (database-ASU access only)
    Covers articles in trade magazines, broadcast transcripts, newspapers and newswire services.  The majority of newspapers are in English but many foreign-language papers are included as well.

Education Indexes

Education indexes are a good source of articles and research on training and adult learning.

  1. Education Full Text (database-ASU access only)

  2. ERIC (database-ASU access only)

Other Social Science Indexes

COMMUNICATION

  1. Communication and Mass Media Complete  (database-ASU access only)
     
  2. ComAbstracts  (database-ASU access only)

ETHICS

  1.  Globethics.net Library  (free online)

PSYCHOLOGY

  1. PsycInfo  (database-ASU access only)
    Relevant for psychology research related to Behavioral Economics, Management, and Marketing & Advertising.

SOCIOLOGY

  1. SocIndex with Full Text  (database-ASU access only)
     
  2. Sociological Abstracts  (database-ASU access only)

Hours and Locations