Login to LibApps


HST 300 - The Twenties: Web Resources

LibGuide with resources for Dr. Gullett's course on the 1920s

Web and Electronic Resources in History

1.       ASU Department of History  

2.       American Historical Association 

The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment.

3.       AHA Directory of History Dissertations 

The Directory of History Dissertations contains more than 21,000 dissertations that have been completed or are currently -in progress in the United States and Canada since 1882. This directory is the merger of two previous online publications, Dissertations in Progress (online from 1999 to 2005) and the Directory of Completed Dissertations.

4.       Best of History Website 

"Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal created for history teachers, students, and general history enthusiasts. BOHWS contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites."  

5.       Center for Research Libraries 

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.   

 

6.       Great Books Index 

"This index is at attempt to guide readers to available online editions of great books."  

7.       Google Scholar    

8.       Historical Consumer Prices 

These are some suggested free Web sites and Hayden Library print and online resources that can provide information on consumer prices for various time periods in the past. Includes also information on the currencies used, foreign exchange conversions, and present value calculations.

9.       Institute of Historical Research 

The Institute of Historical Research (IHR) provides resources for historians. These resources include online articles, free event advertising, MA/PhD study, training courses, an open-access library and more.

10.    Internet, The Electronic Media and Historical Research: Using the ASU Library & Web Resources

A comprehensive site created by Dr. Wendy Plotkin of the ASU Department of History.  This guide was prepared as a resource for History 300 (Methods) classes required of all ASU undergraduate history majors, and is a “beta” version.  A particularly useful aspect are the arrangements of library resources by subject, topic and place. 

11.    Internet Modern History Sourcebook (1300s+)

Provides links to the full text of primary sources in modern history.

12.    Journal of the Association for History and Computing 

This is the home page for the Journal of the Association for History and Computing. 

13.    Librarians' Index to the Internet     

14.    The Online Books Page: Archives:

A Megasite for online books.  This specific page lists other online book sites in English, foreign languages and by subject.  

15.    Project Gutenberg 

"A major source of historical electronic texts that can be searched by author or title."  

16.    Reviews in History 

"This e-journal publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest."   

17.    Using Primary Sources on the Web  

From the American Library Association  

 

Women/Gender Studies

  1. Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
  2. Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
  3. Encyclopedia of Women in the American West

4.       Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States

 

Arizona

1.       The Geo. H.N. Luhrs Family in Phoenix and Arizona, 1847-1984

Searchable full text electronic book of the Luhrs Family and the early history of Phoenix, 1873-1970.

2.       The Chicano Experience in Arizona [online exhibit]

Hours and Locations