1. Academic Search Premier
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
Tip: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.
Indexes current reference sources & the retrospective works that cover individuals, both living & deceased, worldwide. Covers biographical dictionaries; who's whos; subject encyclopedias with biographical entries; literary criticism; & other sources.
The only complete record of in-print and forthcoming books published and distributed in the U.S. which are available to the general public or trade for single or multiple copy purchases. Contains over 1.2 million books of all kinds.
A truly fantastic site to gain historical context and overview for a very wide variety of historical eras, areas, topics and subjects. This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
5. Contemporary Womens Issues
(1992+) Provides full-text access to globl information on women. Indexes journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies.
6. Dissertations and Theses (1861+)
Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.
A searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations published since 1954 on the history of the world except for
9. Humanities Full Text
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.
12. Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981)
Retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the
Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.
The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the
Includes original articles by noted scholars from many countries. The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, captures the experiences of women throughout history. It contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
18. Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995)
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Allows date-limited searching.
20. Project Muse (1990+)
Provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the
Provides an index of print reference works such as dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, and web-based reference works. Allows searching of article titles and index terms in back-of-the-book indexes to a wide variety of subject encyclopedias, compendia, handbooks and reference works. Links are given to full text articles in Gale Virtual Reference Library; Netlibrary; Annual Reviews; AccessScience; Literature Online and other reference sources.
23. Social Sciences Full Text (1983+)
Covers concepts, theories, and methodologies in all areas of the social sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.
Very useful database particularly for social and ethnic history -- covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
25. Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995+)
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on women's studies and gender studies.
The most comprehensive source for determining if a journal is peer-reviewed. (1979+) Covers periodicals, annuals, & irregulars published worldwide. Includes daily & weekly
27. Web of Knowledge ISI
Web of Knowledge is a research platform including tools for finding, analyzing and managing information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The major research resources available through the platform include:
Ø Web of Science (including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index)
28. Women's Studies International (1972+)
Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.
29. WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes bibliographic records for any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries.