Login to LibApps

HST 300 - The Twenties: Available Through ASU Library

LibGuide with resources for Dr. Gullett's course on the 1920s

Primary Sources Available Through ASU Library

1.       America: History and Life (1954+)

        Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations  
        on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

2.       American History in Video 

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

3.       American Indian History Online

A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.

4.       ArchiveFinder 

Archive Finder includes ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland. It is a current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and United Kingdom. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS), along with the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK & Ireland). The archival material noted in this collection ranges from pre-historic to modern. 

5.       Arizona and Southwestern Index (mid 1800s+)

Indexes the Arizona, Chicano, Visual Literacy, Univ. Archives, Labriola Center, Child Drama, and Special collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc. Includes items in Arizona Historical Foundation & Hayden Library

6.       Arizona Archives Online 

The mission of Arizona Archives Online (AAO) is to provide free public access to descriptions of archival collections, preserved and made accessible by Arizona repositories, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums. Through the collaboration of the Arizona repositories we strive to inform, enrich, and empower the researcher by creating and promoting access to a vast array of primary sources across the state of Arizona.

7.       ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

  1. Empire Online

This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Literature and Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007.

9.       FMG on Demand 

Films Media Group (FMG) is a comprehensive collection of nearly 5000 high-quality educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into 20 subject folders. Individual Learning Objects for each title subdivide the videos into smaller segments.

10.   Hayden Papers Database
This database enables fielded text searching of an electronic finding aid to the Senator Carl T. Hayden Papers, which are physically located in the Arizona Collection, Hayden Library, Arizona State University. Senator Hayden's papers comprise 815 boxes of archival materials produced between 1851 and 1979.

11.   Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History

Presently, HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library (1939 – 2000), the Treaties and Agreements Library( 1776- 2001), and the U.S. Supreme Court Library (1754 – 2004).

12.   Historical Abstracts (1954+)

Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada

13.   Lexis-Nexis Congressional (1789+)

U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

14.   Periodical Archive Online (1770-1995)

PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

15.   ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; Proquest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and Observer, 1791 - 2003; Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; The New York Times 1851-2003; The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Ø       Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

16.   Shema Arizona (The Arizona Jewish Historical Society Oral History Project) (1900+)

Oral histories conducted by the Arizona Jewish Historical Society. Includes the transcripts, recordings, and photographs.

29.   Who Speaks for the Negro?  

An archival collection of interviews conducted for Robert Penn Warren's seminal book. The reel-to-reel tapes of the interviews are held by the University of Kentucky and Yale University. These interviews are now digitized and available via the web.

30.   Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000

This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website.

Hours and Locations