Some of the resources below are in print in the ASU Library while others are available electronically. Most books or encyclopedic entries contain a bibliography of additional sources that may help in your research.
In searching the ASU Library Catalog for information on a topic most of us begin with a keyword search because we are not looking for a specific book or resource and we do not know the official Library of Congress Subjects. In searching by keyword for information about the Holocaust begin with the word holocaust by itself or in combination with another word[s]. The Catalog automatically inserts the word 'and' between words so you can search using a word string like you do when searching Google: holocaust personal narratives.
To retrieve e-books only go to the advanced search screen, enter your keyword[s] or one of the subjects below and limit the results to online access under the category 'Location'. Close to 300 online titles are available through the Libraries on the Holocaust.
Below are several Library of Congress Subjects about the Holocaust that will retrieve sources directly related to that topic:
THe following are databases to use for finding journal articles:
Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.
Humanities Full Text Includes full text
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
Index to Jewish Periodicals The Index is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. It provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.
Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Allows date-limited searching.
Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
Tip: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.
The following web resources include personal narratives with links to additional web resources. This is only a sample of some of the resources you may find on the web and are listed here because they were not on the Holocaust LibGuide:
These LibGuides developed by Rachel Leket-Mor, ASU Librarian for Religious Studies have a wealth of information about the Holocaust and Jewish Studies in general. The resources highlighted in these guides include databases, print & online reference sources, and web sources including primary documents.