US History - Print Resources
BIBLIOGRAPHICAL GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
The term "bibliographical guide" refers to a
bibliography which surveys an entire field by identifying the most
important reference works, including other bibliographies. It serves to
open up the literature for the beginning student and points the way to
- American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. 3rd ed.
D 20. A55x 1995 HAYDEN REF
with brief notes, the most important monographs and articles in every
field of history. U.S. history is in volume 2, sections 39-44.
- Fritze, Ronald. Reference Sources in History : An Introductory Guide. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1990.
D 20 .F75x 1990 HAYDEN REF
Covers much the same ground as Prucha (below) but includes foreign countries as well as the United States.
- Harvard Guide to American History. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1974.
E 156 .F77x HAYDEN RESV
indispensable guide for students in this field. Vol. 1 includes
sections on research methods and materials, bibliographies, biographies
and personal records, and histories of special subjects. There are
essays on history as a literary art, writing for publication and book
reviewing. Vol. 2 is arranged chronologically.
- Prucha, Francis. Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1987.
E 178 .P95 HAYDEN REF & ARIZONA REF
excellent source of information on the availability of library
catalogs, bibliographies of special topics, periodical and newspaper
indexes, oral history, biography, national archives, government
publications, databases, and much more. Essential for all graduate
Bibliographies identify research that has been done
on various subjects; they often cite primary materials that are
available in manuscript or printed form. Graduate students must consult
these works in order to avoid missing significant materials that may
not be in this library. Undergraduates will also discover that using
these tools will help them make better use of this collection, because
bibliographies often bring together, in one list, material that may be
scattered throughout the library, in books, articles, or government
- Bibliographic Index: A Cumulative Bibliography of Bibliographies. New York: Wilson, 1937-.
Z 1002 .B595 HAYDEN REF (located on Table 1A)
A subject list of bibliographies published separately or appearing as parts of books and periodicals.
- Bibliographies in History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1988.
E 178 .B53x 1988 vol. 1 HAYDEN REF
An index to bibliographies in history journals and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.
- Henige, David. Serial Bibliographies and Abstracts in History: An Annotated Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1986.
D 20 .H497x HAYDEN REF
bibliography of almost 900 abstract journals and serial bibliographies
(i.e., those published at regular intervals), including bibliographical
surveys published in journals. Use to locate specialized bibliographies
on any subject.
- Merriam, Louise A.. United States History: A Bibliography of the New Writings on American History. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1995
E 178 .M59x 1995 HAYDEN REF
in broad chronological sections with subject specific categories, this
bibliographycovers history scholarship in the 1980's and early 1990's.
- Writings on American History. Washington: American Historical Association, 1902- 1990.
E 171 .W69X HAYDEN REF
most complete bibliography for the period 1902-1961, with both author
and subject indexes. From 1962 on, the citations are for articles only
and are arranged chronologically, geographically and by broad subject
categories, with no subject indexes.
HISTORY PERIODICALS - DIRECTORIES
- Fyfe, Janet. History Journals and Serials: An Analytical Guide. New York: Greenwood, 1986.
PN5124 .P4 F94x 1986 HAYDEN REF
Indicates where a periodical is indexed.
- Historical Periodicals Directory. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1981-1986.
D20 .H53x HAYDEN REF
Lists periodicals published worldwide.
INDEXES TO OLDER LITERATURE
- Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History 1838-1974. 11 vols. Washington: Carrollton, 1977-78.
D 1 .C7X HAYDEN REF (located in Case 4A)
all articles from the earliest volumes through 1974 for 243 English
language periodicals covering all periods and all areas in the field of
history. Arranged by subject and author. U.S. History is in vols. 5-9.
International Index. New York: Wilson, 1907-65.
Al 3 .R49 HAYDEN REF (located in Case 4A)
Predecessor of the Social Sciences & Humanities Index (Entry 22).
- Garaty, John A., ed. American National Biography New York : Oxford University Press, 1999.
CT213 .A68 1999 v. 1 - 24 HAYDEN REF
This is the successor to the DAB. Provides the most up to date biograpical information.
- Biography Index: A Cumulative Index to Biographical Material in Books and Magazines. New York: Wilson, 1949-.
CT 100 .B54X HAYDEN REF BIOGRAPHY (located on Biography Table)
A valuable index to biographical material. Includes an index by profession.
- The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography.
New York : J.T. White, 1898-1984.
E176 .N28 HAYDEN REFERENCE
Vol. 53-v. N-63 have title: National cyclopedia of American biography.
Also called Permanent series because from v. 19 (1926) on it contains
biographies of only deceased persons.
- Dictionary of American Biography (DAB). New York: Scribners Sons, 1928-80.
E 176 .D56 HAYDEN REF
is the standard source for scholarly biographies of people who made a
significant contribution to American life. The bibliographies at the
end of the articles are particularly useful as guides to further
research. The latest supplement(Ten) includes Americans who died during
the period 1976-1980. The comprehensive index to the DAB ithrough Supplement 10 is Index 4:
E176 .D563 Index 4 HAYDEN REF
uehl, Warren. Dissertations in History: An Index to
Dissertations Completed in History Departments of United States and
Canadian Universities, 1873-1960. Supplements, 1961-1980. Lexington: University of Kentucky Press, 1965-1985.
D 21.3 K8x HAYDEN REF
Indexes dissertations on all areas of history.
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Washington: Library of Congress, 1962-.
Z 881.A1 U376 HAYDEN REF
An index to manuscript collections on any subject located in American repositories.