Login to LibApps

HST 300 - The Twenties: Western European History

LibGuide with resources for Dr. Gullett's course on the 1920s

Western European History-Modern Era

PRINT INDEXES TO OLDER LITERATURE

 Bibliographie der Fremdsprachigen Zeitschriftenliteratur. International Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur. Osnabruch: Dietrich, 1911-1964. AI 9 .B7 HAYDEN SERIALS

Indexes 1,400 periodicals in the principal non-German languages. Very useful for finding English, French, Italian and other European publications. Because of the lack of French periodical indexes, it is particularly important for French articles.  Merged with Bibliographie der Deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur to form: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens: International Bibliography of Periodical Literature Covering All Fields of Knowledge. 

Bibliographie Annuelle de l'Histoire de France du Cinquieme Siecle a 1958. Paris: Editions du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1953/54- . Annual. DC 38 .B54 HAYDEN REF

A classified bibliography of books and articles, with author and subject indexes. The most comprehensive work in the field of French history, it cites articles in over 2,000 journals, essays in collective works and conference proceedings.

C.R.I.S.: Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974. 11 vols. Washington: Carrollton, 1977-78. D 1 .C7x HAYDEN REF (located in Case 4A)

Indexes all articles from the earliest volumes through 1974 for 243 English language periodicals covering all periods and all areas in the field of history. The articles are arranged by country in Vols. 1-4. Europe in general is in Vol. 3.

International Index. New York: Wilson, 1907-65. AI 3 .R49 HAYDEN REF  

Predecessor of the Social Sciences & Humanities Index  

PAIS International in Print. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915- . Monthly. H 1 .P85x HAYDEN REF  

Until 1991, entitled Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin, this publication includes foreign language material formerly included in PAIS Foreign Language Index. An alphabetical subject listing of books, pamphlets, periodical articles, and government documents in the field of public affairs, international relations, political science and economics. PAIS is selective in that it lists only the most significant materials in English.

 Times (London, England). Index to the Times. London: Times, 1790- . Quarterly. AI 21 .T46 HAYDEN REF

A subject index to the London Times. The index for 1906-1966 is on microfilm (AI 21 .T46 Microfilm).

BIBLIOGRAPHICAL GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE

The term "Bibliographical guide" refers to a bibliography which surveys an entire field by identifying the most important reference works, including other bibliographies. It serves to open up the literature for the beginning student and points the way to further research.

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. 3rd ed. D 20. A55x 1995 HAYDEN REF Lists, with brief notes, the most important monographs and articles in every field of history.

Fritze, Ronald. Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1990. D 20 .F75x 1990 HAYDEN REF

An excellent source of information on the availability of library catalogs, bibliographies of special topics, periodical and newspaper indexes, oral history, biography, national archives, government publications, databases and much more. Essential for all graduate students.

Iggers, Georg G. International Handbook of Historical Studies. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1979. D 13.162 HAYDEN STACKS

BIOGRAPHY

These works are used to locate biographies of important people from all countries.

Biography Index A Cumulative Index to Biographical Material in Books and Magazines. New York: Wilson, 1949- . Quarterly. CT 100 .B54x HAYDEN REF (located on Biography Table)

A valuable index to biographical material. Includes an index by profession.

Dictionary of National Biography. 22 vols. London; New York: Oxford University Press, 1885-1901. Decenniel supplements. DA 28 .D47 HAYDEN REF

The standard biographical work for Great Britain. The latest volume includes persons who died 1971-1980.

Lobies, Jean-Pierre. IBN: Index Bio-bibliographicus Notorum Hominum. Osnabruck: Biblio Verlag, 1972- . Irreg. CT 104 .L62x HAYDEN REF

An index to bio-bibliographical information in some two thousand collective works covering all periods and countries. Being issued in parts. By 1994, it had reached the end of the letter E.: use it to locate information on the most obscure individuals as well as the better known.

Michaud, J. F. Biographie Universelle Ancienne et Moderne. 82 vols. Paris: Michaud freres, 1811-62. CT 143 .M5 HAYDEN STACKS The most important of the large dictionaries of universal biography. Still useful because of the high standard of scholarship.

Subject Guide

Ed Oetting's picture
Ed Oetting
Contact:
My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1T.
Call me at 480-965-4579

Hours and Locations