Login to LibApps


Learning about the Holocaust: Reference

A Community Guide for Authoritative Free Resources

Print Encyclopedias

General

Encyclopedia Judaica: Second (latest) edition, 2007. 22 volumes. Available at Phoenix Public Library.

The Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. Israel Gutman, editor in chief. 4 volumes. New York: Macmillan, 1990.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.

The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust. Martin Gilbert. 3rd Edition. London; New York: Routledge, 2002. 

Shoʻah: Enciclopedia del Holocausto (Spanish). Robert Rozett y Shmuel Spector, (reds.) et al. Jerusalém: E.D.Z. Nativ ediciones: Yad Vashem, 2004.


People in the Holocaust

Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work. S. Lillian Kremer, editor. New York: Routledge, 2003.

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature. Edited by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn.; London: Oryx Press, 2002.

Holocaust Survivors: a Biographical Dictionary. Emily Taitz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007.


Jewish Life in Eastern Europe

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe. Gershon David Hundert, editor in chief.  New Haven [Conn.]: Yale University Press, 2008.

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Editor in chief, Shmuel Spector ; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder; foreword by Elie Wiesel.  Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York : New York University Press, 2001.


Specific Topics

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press; Washington, D.C.: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2009-

Electronic Resources

Free Resources

The YIVO encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: A definitive work about the civilization of Eastern European Jewry; includes documents, images, audio and video, as well as maps. Also available in print.

Yad va-Shem Holocaust Lexicon: Basic, condensed information. Entries are based on Yad va-Shem's Encyclopedia of the Holocaust.


Arizona State Library: Free resources to Arizona residents

 Biography Reference Center : Full text biographies of actors, athletes, authors, composers, explorers, significant historical figures, inventors, musicians, U.S. Presidents and current world leaders. Includes biography magazine articles and EBSCO's unique narrative biographies.

 

Britannica Biographies : Biographies from the Encyclopedia Britannica. Full text from 10/01/2010 to present.

MasterFILE Premier™ : General reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.

Primary Search: Offers over 70 full text magazines and encyclopedia entries appropriate for elementary school students including Ranger Rick, Jack&Jill, Cricket and Calliope.


Subscription-only; Access available via some public libraries

Encyclopedia Judaica: Second and latest edition (2007). Entries are available in full-text, PDF and MP3 formats; cross-references are hyperlinked; includes illustrations. Sometimes included in the Gale Virtual Reference Library (available at Phoenix Public Library).


Hours and Locations