Teaching Medieval Slavery and Captivity: This website provides pedagogical resources for teachers who want to address the global history of slavery and captivity during the medieval period, broadly defined. First and foremost, this website provides historical sources (texts, images, and audio files) that can be assigned as readings or used for in-class activities.
General Reference, Dictionaries and Encycopedias for History
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Indexes current reference sources & the retrospective works that cover individuals, both living & deceased, worldwide. Covers biographical dictionaries; who's whos; subject encyclopedias with biographical entries; literary criticism; & other sources.
Books in Print The only complete record of in-print and forthcoming books published and distributed in the U.S. which are available to the general public or trade for single or multiple copy purchases. Contains over 1.2 million books of all kinds.
Book Review Index Online Plus (1965+) A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in any walk of life. A must use resource for any history of Britain and its peoples.
Oxford English Dictionary Regarded as the most authoritative & comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, & the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries
Reference Universe Provides an index of print reference works such as dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, and web-based reference works. Allows searching of article titles and index terms in back-of-the-book indexes to a wide variety of subject encyclopedias, compendia, handbooks and reference works. Links are given to full text articles in Gale Virtual Reference Library; Netlibrary; Annual Reviews; AccessScience; Literature Online and other reference sources.
Ulrichsweb.com The most comprehensive source for determining if a journal is peer-reviewed. (1979+) Covers periodicals, annuals, & irregulars published worldwide. Includes daily & weekly U.S. newspapers; newspapers published outside of the U.S; & cessations since 1979. Provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers worldwide.