Alexander Street DramaMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This is a package of six databases -- Black Drama, Asian American Drama, Latino Literature, Twentieth Century North American Drama, North American Indian Drama, and North American Women's Drama. All these collections are cross-searchable through the unified North American Theatre Online interface, with the results seamlessly integrated into one search result. (Please note that North American Indian Drama has not yet been added to the cross-search.)
Alternate titles: North American Theatre Online
Asian American DramaMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Collection contains 250+ plays in full-text by Asian America playwrites, from the late 19th century to the early 21st century. Included is detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and selected ephemera related to the plays.
Alternate titles: Alexander Street Drama
Child Drama Collection IndexCoverage: 1800 + Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Child Drama Collection Index contains manuscript materials, posters, photographs and ephemera documenting the international history of theatre for youth.
Design and Applied Arts IndexCoverage: 1973+ Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management
Alternate titles: DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance™ with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It is an index to journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. It is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research.
Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseCoverage: 1864+ Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited The Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) includes both abstracts/indexes and full text publications, and is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community.
OntheBoards.TVMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
OntheBoards.tv is an on-demand website for HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming. It includes full-length performances of plays and dance, produced at an experimental theater in Seattle, Washington.
Alternate titles: On the Boards.tv Special Instructions: This resource may contain strong adult content, including, but not limited to, nudity, strong language, violence, and graphic sexual depictions. In order to use this website, you affirm that you are at least eighteen (18) years of age and/or over the age of majority in the jurisdiction in which you reside and from which you access the website where the age of majority is greater than eighteen (18) years of age.
Theatre in VideoMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Alternate titles: Critical Video Editions Series
Twentieth Century North American DramaMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Contains selected twentieth century North American plays together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Alternate titles: Alexander Street Drama, 20th Century North American Drama
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity. The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. A unique feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of articles on concepts, theories, and critical approaches, ranging from short definitions of terms like catharsis and monologue to more lengthy considerations of farce and tragedy. Race and theatre, the nature of acting, censorship, safety, special effects, and media and performance are all debated. In all, the 4,300 entries by renowned contributors remain accessible in language and approach and take advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field. The combination of rich detail and accessible language and style make The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance the resource of choice for readers interested in theatre and performance, from occasional playgoers to newspaper critics, students, and scholars.
Call Number: PN2035 .O92 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Literature Resource CenterMaximum Concurrent Users: 12
Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists &other writers. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism.
Alternate titles: LRC
History of Modern Drama by David KrasnerCovering the period 1879 to 1959, and taking in everything from Ibsen to Beckett, this book is volume one of a two-part comprehensive examination of the plays, dramatists, and movements that comprise modern world drama. Contains detailed analysis of plays and playwrights, connecting themes and offering original interpretations Includes coverage of non-English works and traditions to create a global view of modern drama Considers the influence of modernism in art, music, literature, architecture, society, and politics on the formation of modern dramatic literature Takes an interpretative and analytical approach to modern dramatic texts rather than focusing on production history Includes coverage of the ways in which staging practices, design concepts, and acting styles informed the construction of the dramas
Call Number: PN1601 .K73 2012eb Online
Publication Date: 2011-08-31
Oxford Companion to the Theatre - Various Editions by Phyllis Hartnoll (Editor)Since the third edition of The Oxford Companion to the Theatre appeared in 1967, theatre throughout the world, and especially in European and all English-speaking countries, has undergone a series of changes swifter and more far-reaching than at any other time in its history. While maintaining the primary purpose of preceding editions in providing a solid survey of the development of the theatre from its beginnings in primitive ritual to the present day in all countries that have a continuing theatrical tradition, this new edition offers more information on contemporary writers, directors, players, companies, and theatres, both metropolitan and regional. An extensive system of cross-referencing leads the reader to entries containing related information, and a generous bibliography offers aguidance on further reading. Entries dealing with technical subjects emphasize the historical perspective, throwing light on the remarkable accomplishments of earlier practitioners of theatrical illusion: they are illustrated where necessary with diagrams. Over 200 other illustrations are placed in thematically-arranged groups: functioning independently of the text, they show the changes of vision brought to bear on theatrical production over more than 2000 years.
Call Number: PN2035 .O9 1993
Publication Date: 1983-10-13
Play IndexCoverage: 1949+ Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Covers virtually every important play ever written, from the works of contemporary playwrights to classic and historical plays in today's collections and anthologies. Indexes classic, historical and contemporary plays, including new editions or translations, published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. Includes links to the full text of plays available on the Web.