Login to LibApps


Korean Studies: ASU Library Materials on Korean Arts and Films

This guide serves as a guide to Korean Studies.

Searching for Materials in the Library catalog

There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials.
However you might want to use the Subject Headings; Art Korea or Art Korean

ASU library has several printed materials about Korean Arts

Masterpieces of Korean art / Lee, Kyong-hee / N7365 .M37 2010
Art of the Korean Renaissance, 1400-1600 / Soyoung Lee / N7363.4 .L44 2009
Dictionary of Korean art and archaeology / / N7365 .D53 2004
Modern and contemporary art in Korea : tradition, modernity, and identity / Kim Youngna / N7365 .K565 2005

Article Databases and Journals

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

Journals:

  • Orientations: the magazine for collectors and connoisseurs of Oriental art. Index and abstracts available online. Issues in Hayden Library (lower level) at DS 501 .O73
  • Arts of Asia available in Hyaden Library (lower level) NX 572 .A75

Images and Image Databases

ASU resources for Korean Arts

Painting and Calligraphy

  • Traditional Korean art / the Korean National Commission for UNESCO / N7360 .T73 1983
  • Korean arts / N7370 .A55
  • Korean art and design / Samsung Gallery of Korean Art / NK1073.6 .S26 1992
  • Modern Korean ink painting / Chung Hyung-Min / ND1066 .C86 2006
  • Traditional painting : window on the Korean mind / Korea Foundation / N7360 .T73 2010
  • An illustrated guide to Korean mythology / Choi Won-Oh / GR342 .C4413 2008eb Online  
  • Eternal images of Sakyamuni : two gilt-bronze Korean national treasures / Kang Woobang / NK7908.7 .E84 2008

 Sculpts and Handcrafts

  • Maedeup : the art of traditional Korean knots / Kim Hee-jin. / TT840.M33 K49 2006  
  • Masters of traditional Korean handicrafts. / Korea Foundation / NK1073.6.A1 M37 2009  

Performance and Dance

  • Korean performing arts / Yi Tu-hyŏn / PN2931 .K69 1997

Korean Films

Korean Film: Korean film review database
KoreanFile.org began as a personal blog for file review. It provides a comprehensive introduction to Korean cinema.

Korean Film DVDs with English subtitle in ASU Library (Click Title for Review)

Videos about Korean

Korean Films without subtitle

Videos about Korea

Online Video Streaming Service

Hours and Locations