Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

E-Books: Downloading e-Books for Mobile / Offline Use

This guide provides instructions on how to download or check-out e-books for use offline or on a mobile device.

Access through Library One Search & "A-Z Databases"

Information about and online access to the 650,000+ electronic books licensed/purchased by, or subscribed to by the ASU Library can be found by connecting to our Library One Search discovery tool.

Our A-Z Databases module provides access to the different platforms or database interfaces for identifying and accessing these resources.

  • To connect to an alphabetical list of e-book collections (or, in some cases, individual e-book titles), while using the A-Z Databases module, simply change the "Resource Type" menu from its default "All Database Types" setting to E-Book Collections.

Major E-Book Collections

ACLS Humanities E-book Project
Provides access to 5,400+ high-quality books in the humanities and related social sciences..
Search options: All content. Only content I can access. Only open access content.
Browsing options: Subject, Author, Publisher, Series.
The ASU Library Catalog provides records for 4,800+ titles.

Directory of Open Access Books
36,000+ academic peer-reviewed books from 600+ publishers.
Browsing options: Subjects, Publishers, Languages, Date Issued, Collections.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Search options include: keyword and full text; author; call number (LC and Dewey); ISBN; publisher; series title; title.

eBooks on EBSCOhost
The ASU Library Catalog contains records for 16,000+ of these titles.

HathiTrust Digital Library

JSTOR eBooks

Knovel

Project MUSE Open Access ebooks

Subjects: General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.