Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Finding Fort Mojave Archival Materials

Program Description

Curator of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, Librarian, and member of the Department of Archives and Special Collections staff at Arizona State University - Joyce Martin will discuss methods of directly searching online catalogs and special collections indexes to locate Mojave archival material. Types of archival material include oral histories or other forms of audio content, photographs, manuscript collections, language material and historical documentation. The workshop will include demonstrations, instructions and hands on exercises on how to search the archives in a variety of university libraries and special collections in Arizona, California, and Nevada as well as a brief introduction into how to locate digital material on the National Archives web site. 

Archives Websites

Librarian

Profile Photo
Joyce Martin
Contact:
Social Science Division Head
480-965-0298

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.