Login to LibApps

AMS 301 - Introduction to American Studies - Pagan: Searching for Books & Articles

Searching for Books

ASU Library Catalog Search

 

To find books by an author, start with the Author search and enter the last name first. (ex: Hartmann, Susan)

 

 

To find a book on your topic, start with the Keyword search.

o   When you find a good title, follow the subject headings for more books on the topic.

o   To locate the book, you need the entire call number (ex: KF224.S8 B69 2004).

o   If a book you want is checked out, or if you want the book delivered from another campus library. 

 

 

Searching JSTOR

Searching Databases for Articles

As an American Studies student you have a variety of databases available to search. Listed below are some relevant databases for locating journal articles & other resources:

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects.

America: History and Life 
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes full-text articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada
Humanities Full Text    1984-
Full text articles published in variety of subjects in the humanities including history

JSTOR
Full-text access to journals across the disciplines

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

(1700-1995) an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995.

Subject Guide

Bee Gallegos's picture
Bee Gallegos
Specialties: History, Education, Children's & Young Adult Literature, Educational Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509

Hours and Locations