The Children's & Young Adult Literature Guide is designed to assist students, faculty and other researchers in identifying and locating resources relevant to children's & young adult literature. Resources include physical collections in the ASU Library, online databases and other resources and free internet sources.
The ASU Library collects children's and young adult books in support of education students and faculty in courses and/or doing research. There are collections on 3 campuses (Polytechnic campus Library, Hayden Library on the Tempe campus & Fletcher Library on the West campus) and in the High Density Collection. Within each Library, books in this collection have a location designation of curriculum [CURR]. Each collection has books focusing on different ages and genres.
The sub-areas within the curriculum collection include non-fiction with Dewey Decimal call numbers, within the Dewey section, books that are biographies have a call number of 92; picture books [Easy]; fiction books [FIC]; books in other languages.
Fletcher Library has also grouped graphic novels for easy location. These titles are largely in one call number within the non-fiction collection but there are titles in other areas so this assists the student in locating these graphic titles.
Each ASU Library with a collection has a wide range of titles for the broad spectrum of users but as of 2010 the Hayden Library focus is on young adult books while Fletcher Library focuses on children's books.
To locate books within the libraries search the Library catalog using the suggestions listed under the tab in this guide: Finding Books.
The Child Drama Collection contains materials that document the international history of theater for youth from the 16th to the 21st centuries. It is the largest theater for youth repository in the world, containing over 9,000 books, 292 periodical titles, 1,500 audio-visual media, and 3,500 linear feet of manuscript materials.
Highlights literary heritage and calls attention to the importance of books, reading, literacy and libraries