Login to LibApps

Children's & Young Adult Literature: Finding Articles

Guide for library and Internet research resources about children's and young adult literature.

Databases

The following databases are excellent resources for find information about children's and young adult literature including their use in the classroom.

Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

A unique database which includes complete digitized backfiles of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues. Many of these journals date from the 1800s with over 4 million pages now available. JSTOR indexes over 100 Education journals, 211 Language & Literature journals, 24 Folklore journals, and 9 Library Science journals.
 
LISTA is a free resource intended for those interested in libraries and information management. This bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes several hundred periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
Covers library & information science. Indexes articles, book reviews, books, collected works, conference proceedings, theses, & pamphlets. Covers automation,cataloging, censorship, copyright, information brokers, management, publishing, etc.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
(1973+) Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.
 
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for several hundred popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides full text reference books and thousands of biographies, and primary source documents. Included is also an Image Collection of several hundred thousand photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
 
Primary Search
Provides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (1975+ )
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Indexes more than 8,200 journals (7,1000 are peer-reviewed) and directly supplies full-text articles for nearly 4,500 journals (including 3,700 peer-reviewed).
This database does includes magazines and newspapers so when looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Sage Premier
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies.

 

Hours and Locations