BDE 701: Fundamentals of Biological Design
Librarian
Olivia Sparks
she/her
Contact:
Polytechnic Library
Academic Center (CNTR) 36
5988 S Backus Mall, Mesa AZ 85212
Academic Center (CNTR) 36
5988 S Backus Mall, Mesa AZ 85212
602-543-6489
Need more help?
Introduction
This guide is a brief sampling of some of the many resources the ASU Library has to offer. Please do not hesitate to contact a librarian more closely related to your project's subject area for more help and information.
We are here to help you!
Resources for the Research Lab
- Current Protocols in Cell BiologyFull-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
- Current Protocols in ImmunologyFull-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
- Current Protocols in Molecular BiologyFull-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
- Current Protocols in Protein Sciencecollection of methods for the study of all aspects of proteins, and includes both classic and state-Full-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesA collection of articles by scientists and historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, science and society.
- Journal Citation Reports(1997+) The only source of citation data on specific journals. Includes most specialties in science, technology, and the social sciences. Shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Coverage is both multidisciplinary & international.
- knovelA collection of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
- Nature ProtocolsAn online peer-reviewed library of step-by-step procedures for the lab bench, published by Nature.
- SafariProvides full text books in Computer Programming and Information Technology (IT) in more than 20 categories, including Creative Media, Database, Desktop Productivity, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl, Programming, Software Engineering, and XML.
Citation Management Tools
There are a variety of tools that you can use to manage your citations! Take a look at these resources and determine which one best fits your needs.
- ACS ChemWorksA collaborative reference manager. Developed by the American Chemical Society (ACS) and powered by colwiz, ACS ChemWorx is a reference manager developed for researchers in the chemical and related sciences.
- CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search ToolThe CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This complimentary resource can be used to quickly and easily look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.
- MendeleyFree reference manager and academic social network. Mendeley is web-based and also has downloadable software to fully utilize the citation management features.
Journal Articles
- SciFinder WebAccess for ASU Affiliated Students, Staff and Faculty. Web version of SciFinder Scholar. Covers chemistry, biochemistry and all related fields. Search here for chemical information, journal articles, patents, books, conference proceedings and more.
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index Expanded(1955+) Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references. Covers approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals in a broad range of disciplines.
- Inspec(1969+) Provides over 9 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and dissertations in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, materials science, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.
- EI Compendex Web(1970+) Covers the entire spectrum of engineering, including journals, conference papers & technical reports. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, quality control, and engineering management issues.
- IEEE XploreContains full-text of journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
- PubMed(1950+) PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
