Login to LibApps

JUS 301: Research Methods in Justice Studies: Finding Articles

Get Your Articles

When You Are Using a Library Database:

1.  Sometimes the article is fulltext in the database you're using! Look for a PDF copy of the article. 

if not...

2.  Click the  button to see if ASU Library owns the article in another database.

if not online at ASU Library...

3. Choose the InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD Service) option to order your article. It will be delivered to you through your Illiad account, online.

Selected Databases for Social Science Research

Academic Search Premier: Also known as Ebscohost. Covers a wide variety of journals in all subject areas including the social sciences. Also covers a lot of popular magazines that are not research-based, so be sure to click the box for "scholarly peer reviewed articles". Use the "advanced search" option to search more effectively.

SocIndex with Fulltext: Searches the same way as Academic Search Premier, but adds coverage for some additional social science journals. You may want to search both databases for a more comprehensive search. Remember to use the "advanced search" option and to click on "scholarly peer reviewed articles". 

Sociological Abstracts: A primary database for research in sociology and related areas. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of journal article. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: political attitudes AND college students.

Criminal Justice Abstracts:  Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Searches the same way as Academic Seach Premier and SocIndex. 

Other databases may be relevant, depending upon your topic. You can use the subject pull down menus on the research databases page or check out some of these databases related to justice studies topics:


Communication and Mass Media Complete

PAIS International

Women's Studies International 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way to locate a specific article and to find related articles. Use the advanced search function to limit your dates adn get better results. By using this gateway to Google Scholar, you will be recognized as an ASU student and won't be asked to pay for articles. Look for the Get It @ASU link if a PDF isn't available. 

Hints for Article Searching

AND Connector
Link concepts with the word AND.  For example, a good way to find articles about the relationship between video games and the characteristics of the people who play them would be to search video games AND personality.

OR Connector 
If there are different ways to say the same thing, consider using the linking word OR.  For example, video games OR computer games.

Adding an asterisk at the end of a word will get alternative word endings. A search on child* will find the word child, but will also find childhood and children. Very handy!

Peer-reviewed Search Option  
Remember to click the box that says "peer-reviewed" (located directly under the search boxes). This will make sure you get the kind of research that you probably need for your assignment.

Search Help  
If you are not finding what you are looking for, please ask for assistance. We are here to help you!

Hours and Locations