PsycInfo PsycINFO is the primary index of psychological literature, as well as related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. It indexes over 1800 journals, English language books and book chapters, dissertations and technical reports. Many articles include links to their full text.
Google Scholar Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive in any way and there are no summaries or abstracts. Especially useful for cited reference searching. Use the Advanced Search option for best results.
Social Services Abstracts Primarily a social work database, but includes relevant citations on community and mental health services
Academic Search Premier A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects.
ERIC: Premier U.S. database of education literature. Useful for finding articles related to counseling in a school setting.
Dissertations & Theses Identifies doctoral dissertations and masters theses, includes some international but mostly U.S and Canada; full text PDF files online for most doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses
Annual Review of Psychology Critical literature reviews written by leading scientists; psychology is one of 41 disciplines for which reviews are available.
Web of Science The Web of Science provides web-based access to both the Science Citation Index Expanded, covering over 5,300 journals, and the Social Sciences Citation Index, covering over 1,700 journals. You are able to perform traditional subject and author searches, and the reference lists for each work are included. You can also find out who has cited a particular work (Cited Reference Searching). These databases can be searched separately or simultaneously, and are updated weekly.
PubMed Index to medical literature, including many psychological aspects. Especially useful for clinical psychology, physiology, comparative psychology, and pharmacology.
SocIndex with Fulltext: SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Finding the Full Text of Articles
The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are several ways that you can do this:
Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article.
Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.
If those methods don't work, you can make a final check using our our Journal Title Lookupfeature to lead you to the volumes of that particular journal that we have access to online.
These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).