Which database should you use to find research articles on your topic? These are good places to start.
PsycInfo: Covers all areas of psychology and related fields and is a primary database for family studies and human development. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of publication. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: social anxiety AND treatment effectiveness. After you do a search there are limits that you can apply if appropriate for things like methodology, population, age group, and more.
Google Scholar: Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive and there are no summaries or abstracts. Use the Advanced Search option for best results. Get to the advanced search screen by clicking on the three little gray lines in the upper left corner of the search page. Use the "get it @ ASU" links to get to the article itself. Use this link to Google Scholar or the link on the library home page to ensure that the ASU Library's fulltext journal content is linked from Google Scholar. For more information on Google Scholar including searching tips and examples, click on the tab at the top of this page or click here: Google Scholar Search Tips.
Some students also find these additional databases to be helpful:
ERIC: the premier database for research in the field of education
Family Studies Abstracts Family Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Dissertations & Theses Global: identifies doctoral dissertations and masters theses, includes some international but mostly U.S and Canada; full text PDF files online for most doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses. Does not cover journal articles, but can still be a valuable resource for the researcher. Use the Advanced Search option for best results.