Login to LibApps

PPE 310 Health Literacy: Creating Healthy and Active Schools: Signature Assignment

Signature Assignment

This assignment is designed to get you thinking about how health relates to education.  The purpose of the signature assignment is to further develop your knowledge and abilities in regards to building a plan for a healthy classroom, school and community. 

Outline: 10 points
Provide outline of project
 
Introduction:  10 points
Provide a brief rationale for your topic choice. Also, include a purpose statement and concisely describe the content to be presented in the remainder of the paper.
 
Literature Review: 15 points
Find the Full Text of at least 5 original research articles from peer-reviewed journals. This type of article presents data from a study which the authors conducted. It usually follows a format of an introduction, methods, results, and discussion, but these sections can vary a bit. Review articles, meta-analyses, and dissertations can be additional sources, but do not count towards the five required articles. Find research articles using a research database through ASU Library. Include studies which were conducted in the past 10 years only. If you need help, contact a librarian. Summarize each article by briefly paraphrasing (not quoting) the following items:
         -Purpose of the research
         -Methods used for the research                            (e.g. survey, interviews, measurement tools...)
         -Results of the research for each article
      
      Synthesis of Information: 15 points
      Provide a synethesis of information presented in the 5 articles described in literature review. Compare & contrast the articles and discuss them as a whole. Use the following as a guide when synthesizing the 5 articles:
       -Did the articles come to a conclusion: did all come to same conclusion or were the conclusions different? Cite sources hers
       -Were there similar themes throughtout the articles? If so, describe.
       -Were there differing themes? If so, describe.
       
      Practical Implications: 30 points
      Based on the overview & themes discussed in previous section describe what application this may have on your teaching/classroom    
 
      Conclusion: 10points
      Summarize and tie together the literature and the applications to your teaching.
 
      References: 10 points
      Should contain all references cited in your paper. Use APA Citation Style to format your references.
     
      Total Points: 100 points
 
 
 
 

About Empirical Articles

These documents show  examples of abstracts of articles published about original [empirical] research from 4 different databases.  The examples demonstrate the differences between how databases handle abstracts of research articles & how individual authors describe their research.

 

Limit Your Search to Empirical Research

Most databases allow you to limit your search results.  Even though they allow a search to be limited they do not always apply those limit in the same way. 

The attached document highlights the different approaches to limiting the search results in the databases most relevant to your assignment.

Databases

Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Physical Education Index
This database is an index to materials from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, and patents on physical education, sports law, kinesiology, physical therapy, etc.

PsycINFO
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.

(1950+The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.  Open access searching interface for 'Medline.' Includes references from several hundred nursing journals.
 

SPORT Discus
(1975+) Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics.

(1975+ ) Covers a wide range of academic subjects. This database does includes magazines and newspapers so when looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Subjects in Databases

Databases do not always use the same terminology or subjects because disciplines often have their own language.  Below is an example of the terminology/subjects used in databases with the following search question and main concepts:

Does physical activity or exercise have an affect on the academic achievement of overweight kids?
 
Your main ideas/concepts are:
1-Physical activity
2-Overweight kids
3-Academic achievement
 
ERIC Subjects:
Physical activities or Physical education or Exercise
Obesity
Academic achievement
 
Education Full-Text
Physical education or Exercise or Physical Fitness or Schools-Exercises & Recreations
Obesity-Study and teaching
Academic achievement
 
SportDiscus
Physical education or Exercise or Physical fitness
Obesity or Overweight children or Overweight teenagers
Academic achievement
 
Physical Education Index
Physical education
Obesity
Academic Achievement
 
PsycInfo
Physical activity or Physical fitness or Exercise Phsyical education
Overweight or Obesity
Academic Achievement
 
PubMed
Physical Exertion or Exercise
Overweight or Obesity
Learning

Education Librarians

Downtown:
Alexandra Humphreys
602-496-1188
Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu

Tempe campus:
Linda DeFato
480-965-3082
Linda.DeFato@asu.edu

West campus:
Bee Gallegos
602-543-8509
Bee.Gallegos@asu.edu

Hours and Locations