Login to LibApps

TEL 504: Learning & Instruction (Hybrid)- Desimone: Citation and Writing Help

Subjects: Education

Citing Sources

In addition to keeping oneself out of trouble with copyright compliance rules and university conduct policies, citing your sources allows others to reproduce and build on your research, creating new scholarship.

ASU Library: Citation Style (APA | Chicago | MLA Turabian
This guide introduces the user to several of the most common & heavily used citation styles outside of the sciences.

The OWL at Purdue University (APAMLA
The oldest and one of the most comprehensive online writing labs.

Basics of APA Style 
Tutorial created by American Psychological Association. 

Research and Documentation Online (Duke University): APA | MLA | Chicago | CSE
Great site with many examples on how to cite online sources. Includes examples for both the major formats of citable materials and the respective style manual citations.

North Carolina University Libraries Citing Information Tutorial (APA | MLA | Chicago | CSE/CBE) 
Consists of a series of self-paced instructional modules designed to introduce you to citing information in a number of citation styles.

 

Writing Help

ASU Writing Centers 
ASU Writing Centers provide tutoring (in-person and online) for all enrolled students

ASU Policy on Plagiarism
Information on ASU's policy on academic integrity and plagiarism

Avoiding Plagiarism  
Tutorial provided by  
Rutgers Uinversity Libraries (requires flash)

 

 

Education Librarians

Downtown:
Alexandra Humphreys
602-496-1188
Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu

Tempe campus:
Linda DeFato
480-965-3082
Linda.DeFato@asu.edu

West campus:
Bee Gallegos
602-543-8509
Bee.Gallegos@asu.edu

 

RefWorks

About RefWorks 
RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to create and manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles. More information about RefWorks

Accessing RefWorks
Use of RefWorks requires users to sign up for an individual account at their Website. Keep your Refworks UserID and password handy, and always authenticate from off-campus by entering through the ASUauthentication page. First-time users must subscribe for an individual account from this page before accessing your citation management software. Keep your UserID and password safe! ASU does not have access to the RefWorks system to reset passwords. If you lose your password, follow the reset link on the authentication page.

Create your own RefWorks account now.

Exporting Citations From a Database
For instructions on how to export citations from a specific database into RefWorks consult "Importing Citations into Refworks" and select the appropriate database.

Creating Your Citations Database 
Once logged into RefWorks, there are a number of ways to enter your citations:

  • manually via the RefWorks References menu
  • automatically via most ASU Library online resources: follow the RefWorks online help for each of the direct-import vendor resources supported. The list of currently supported databases and import instructions for each vendor resource is available from the RefWorks site Help Index (Building Your Database, Importing from a Text File, Exporting from a Data Service).
  • ASU Library online catalog entries can be searched and added to your citations database directly from the RefWorks Search menu.
  • imported from other citation software formats via the Help Index (Building Your Database, Converting from Other Bibliographic Management Programs)

Creating a Bibliography
You can create and format a bibliography from a list of references using a folder of references or all your references. Select the Bibliography button to begin. There are many different citation sytles listed within RefWorks to select from. After selecting the citation style (e.g. Chichago Style etc.) choose the end format for your file (e.g. Word, HTML, Rich Text Format). Click Create Bibliogrpahy. Your bibliography will appear in a new window which you can save to your computer. The resulting bibliogrpahy can be copied and pasted into your paper.

 Write-n-Cite the Easy Way

This Library Guide provides instruction and direction on how to import citations into RefWorks as well as learning how to place in-cite citations into a sample paper. 

For Additional Refworks Information: RefWorks LibGuide

 

Hours and Locations