Login to LibApps

Tests, Measures and Assessments in Education: Databases

This guide will assist in locating and using educational tests and assessment instruments and finding evaluative information about them

Databases

 These databases will help identify relevant tests and assessments in education including reviews.

This database is the result of merging too different but companion databases into one source. Mental Measurements Yearbook [MMY] contains descriptive information and critical reviews of commercially published tests in the English language. The database includes all information published after the 10th edition (1989) of the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Tests in Print [TIP] serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). You can research current test information from TIP and continue the search to all available test reviews published in MMY. Printed copies of the earlier editions of both titles can be found in Hayden Reference .
 
ERIC
Premier educational databases contains some unpublished tests and assessments in books, journals and dissertations. Also identify sources for test reviews.

 

HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
HaPI identifies tests and measures that have been discussed in journal articles and other sources. The majority of these are not for sale by commercial publishers. Instead, HaPI includes journal citations which may give you leads to locating the instrument itself. In some cases the test itself is included in the journal article. In other cases, only sample questions are included. Sometimes it will be necessary to contact the author of the test.

 

PsycInfo
Search your keywords in the PsycInfo database, adding the words "validity" or "reliability" or both. This will find articles that describe the validity or reliability of measurement instruments on your topic. For example: anxiety and children and validity and reliability. NOTE: You can also search for keywords and then use the word "appended" in the "tests and measures" field to find articles that include the actual instrument. Just be aware that you may not find very many appended measures.

PsycTests
Research database that provides access to pyschological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information. Focus is on unpublished tests available in a variety of resources including books, dissertations, journal articles or websites. Descriptive information only is provided for commercial tests included in this database.
 

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
A service of Helen Hough at the University of Texas, this is an index to compilations of tests available in many libraries. The site was designed as a service to locate tests, measures, instruments, etc. when there is a known title or author and a copy of the test is desired.

ETS Test Link
The Test Collection at ETS is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices that makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. Collected from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest such compilation in the world.

Dissertations and Theses
This is not actually a test database, but it can be useful in the search for appropriate research instruments. The database contains full text of dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also contains some masters' theses. If a doctoral student developed an instrument to use in their dissertation research, this will probably give you access. It's often very helpful to see how others approached their graduate research and the instruments they used.

 

Subject Guide

Bee Gallegos's picture
Bee Gallegos
Specialties: History, Education, Children's & Young Adult Literature, Educational Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509

Hours and Locations