Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


EEE 598: Multimedia/Qos

Best library and internet resources plus literature searching techniques for your assignment.

Introduction

The Saved Search feature is most likely to be found in indexing databases.  Everytime the database is updated with new material, your search will be run against the new material.  You'll be sent an email with the citations for all the new material that matches your search. 

The links on these emails will only be usable from on-campus - sometimes there will be just one link that takes you to the whole list of your results within the database or each item in your email will have a link back to the item's record within the database.  Once in the database, use the "full text", "PDF", or "Get It @ ASU" links to get to the full text of the item.

How to Set Up a Saved Search

To set up a saved search, you usually create and perform the search you'd like to save.  Then look for a link or button for "Saved Searches"; if one is not available, look under headings such as "My Profile", "My Account" or "My Settings".   In some databases, saved searches are called "Alerts".  To receive an email alert you will have to register for a personal account with the database - registration is free. 

Instructions for Specific Databases


ABI/Inform
(business articles and reports)

  • Once in the database, click on the "My Research" link in the upper right corner of the screen on the blue navigation bar
  • Login (If you haven't already registered, click on "Create a My Research Account)
  • Click on the "Search" link in the upper left of the screen, directly under the blue navigation bar
  • Do the search you'd like to save
  • Once the search results are displayed, click on the "Recent Searches" link on the blue navigation bar
  • A list of the searches you've performed are now listed - for the one(s) you'd like to save, mouse over the "Actions" link, then select "Save Search"

ACM Guide to Computing Literature/ACM Digital Li brary  (computing-related journal articles and conference proceedings)

  • Does not appear to have the saved search feature.

ASU Library Catalog (books, films, dissertations, sound recordings, maps, etc. added to the ASU Library)

  • Instructions for creating an alert are available at https://library.lib.asu.edu/screens/Preferred.html 
  • Searches must be very specific so that only a small section of the catalog records are checked each week for new items - broadly designed searches will not run to completion.

ASU Library One Search (books, journal articles, films, dissertations, sound recordings, maps, etc. added to the ASU Library)
Only RSS feed is available for a saved search; no option for email alerts.

  • Do the search
  • At the top right of the results, click on the RSS feed icon
  • Either subscribe to the feed using your web browser or copy the URL for your feed reader. (more instructions about RSS feeds is available below.) 

Compendex (journal articles and conference papers from all areas of engineering and manufacturing), and
Inspec (journal articles, conference papers, patents and technical reports in electrical engineering, computer science, and physics)
Will run a saved search strategy each week against the new items added to the database; you may create up to 125 different alerts.  Alerts must be set separately for each database - you cannot have one alert that searches both databases. 

  • Once in the database (either Compendex or Inspec), do the search you'd like to have run each week,
  • Next, click on "Search History" in the upper right of the screen
  • Click in the "Email Alert" box on the line for that search.
  • Login (If you haven't already registered, click on the "Register Now" link in the right column)
  • The Search History screen will refresh and you'll see that "Saved" is now indicated on the far right of the search. (You may now either resume searching or "End Session")
  • To review or remove your email alerts, click on the "My Alerts" link in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • A RSS feed option is available.

IEEE Xplore (journal articles, conference papers, books, and standards published by the IEEE)
Will run a saved search strategy against the new items added to the database.

  • On the blue navigation bar, click on "Sign In" and login (If you have not yet registered, click on the "Register for an IEEE Account" link) 
  • Do the search you'd like to save
  • At the top of the results list, click on the "Set Search Alert" icon, a window will pop up
  • Fill in the title of the search, and click on the Save button in the bottom left of the pop up window

 

Web of Science (journal articles from most subject areas)
Will send email notification if a specific article has been recently cited.

  • Once in the Web of Science, find the article for which you'd like to receive citation alerts
  • Click on the title of the article to go to the full record page,
  • In the right hand column, click on the "Create Citation Alert" button,
  • Log-in (or click on the link to "Register" in the left-hand column)
  • A RSS feed option is available.
  • To remove the alert, click on the "My Citation Alerts" link in the upper right corner of the screen, then click on the "Modify Settings" button, then click in the "Remove from list" box for that alert, and submit changes.

Hours and Locations