When searching a database, click Get It!@ASU to find out how to access the full-text article.
PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.
Cochrane Library: A best evidence database | Search your topic to find a full-text Cochrane Systematic Review OR search to find a journal citation & abstract of a systematic review not yet done by Cochrane, but quality assessed OR search to find a journal citation & abstract of a clinical trial taken from research databases, including: PubMed, EMBASE, DARE, or from other published and unpublished sources, i.e. conference proceedings.
Academic Search Premier: This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.
Web of Science: Provides access to information about publications in approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals in a broad range of disciplines.
Google Scholar: enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. *Always access Google Scholar via ASU Library for links to full-text from ASU Library subscription resources.
Business, Psychology, Education
ABI/Inform Complete: is a comprehensive business database of articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. Full text and images included for selected articles. Some Business Cases are now included.
PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, mainly behavioral and social sciences. Includes references and abstracts for journal articles, research studies, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
ERIC: Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.
Proquest (LexisNexis) Congressional: U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Proquest Legislative Insight: Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers.
Proquest Statistical Insight: Abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. It includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.
More Health Related Research Databases
Food Institute Database - The Food Institute website is a useful source for information related to the food industry whether it's recalls, company profiles, or harvest updates.
Physical Education Index - Search to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patients pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physcial education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.
SPORTS Discus - Search a topic to retrieve journal citations and abstracts covering all areas of sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education & training. Full-text contains content from books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and journal & magazine articles.
Video presentation on Narrative Reviews, Systematic Reviews and Scoping Reviews (8.5 minutes)
For more information: A Typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodology by Maria J. Grant & Andrew Booth