Login to LibApps

Aerial Photos: Statewide Collections

A guide to aerial photographs in the ASU Library Map and Geospatial Hub.

AZ City Photo Index

The AZ City Photo Index is a spreadsheet that can assist you in identifying aerial photography in the Map and Geospatial Hub which cover cities in Arizona.  

Click on a file below to download.  Then search by city.  Contact the Hub staff to access photographs.

Soil Conservation Service Photos

Soil Conservation Service (Fairchild) Aerial Photos are photomosaics created from aerial photos taken by the Fairchild Aerial Company between 1935 and 1937 to assist with the Soil Conservation Service's work in Arizona. The Map and Geospatial Hub holdings cover 65% of the state. The scale for the photos is 1:62,500; each photo covers the same area as a 15' topographic map.

Click on the files below to see coverage and samples of photos.


USGS Orthophotos

USGS Orthophotoquads: These aerial photographs were taken in the early 1970s as part of a cooperative program between the United States Geological Survey (USGS) and other Federal agencies. Orthophotos are aerial photographs that have been corrected for distortion caused by camera tilt.

The ASU Library's Map and Geospatial Hub owns orthophotos for most of Arizona. The scale for Arizona Orthophotoquads is 1:24,000, the same scale as 7.5-minute topographic maps. The orthophotos are referenced by the quadrangle name.
See: Orthophotoquad Index Map (pdf format - Download Adobe Reader)
See: AZ City Photo Index

ADOT Highway Photography

State and Interstate Highway Photos: These photos were taken by the Arizona Department of Transportation in the late 1950s and early 1960s. They cover areas adjacent to major highways. The scale for most of the highway photos is 1:31,680.

You can locate AZDOT photos by using the AZ City Photo Index or by using the Key to U.S. And State Highway Photos found in the PDF below.

USDA Photomosaics

United States Department of Agriculture Photomosaics

The Map and Geospatial Hub has digital copies of Department of Agriculture photomosaics for parts of Maricopa, Yavapai, Pima and Pinal Counties. 

These mosaics were created to index the individual photographs taken for the Department of Agriculture project.  The individual photographs are not available from the Hub.  Each digital file of the photomosaics are approximately 70 MB and low resolution.  An individual project year of data is approximately 1 GB in size.  Click on the PDF file below  to see a sample of the resolution available. 

The photomosaics depict only portions of the counties, generally urban and agricultural areas.  The KMLs in the boxes below depict the areal extent of each set of photomosaics available for viewing and downloading within the Map and Geospatial Hub. 

USDA Photomosaic Coverage- Google Maps KML

View coverage of the U.S. Department of Agriculture photomosaics with these KML outlines in Google Maps.

The KMLs in this box depict the areal extent of each set of photomosaics available for viewing and downloading within the Map and Geospatial Hub.  The approximate extent of this photography can be viewed using either Google Maps or Google Earth.  Viewing KML files with Google Earth- available with free software download.

USDA Photomosaics- Google Earth KML

View coverage of the U.S. Department of Agriculture photomosaics with these kml outlines in Google Earth.  Download Google Earth for free.

Other Statewide Collections

Arizona Regional Image Archive (ARIA) - Downloadable USGS digital orthophoto quarter quadrangles (DOQQs), most in GeoTiff format, and satellite imagery of Arizona.

GIS Data Repository - Regional and State photography and imagery available to ASU students, faculty, and staff.

Arizona Imagery Server: Orthoimagery for most of Arizona.
Users without ArcGIS: Arizona Imagery Server
Users with ArcGIS: Please follow these instructions for accessing the map service from ArcMap.

  1. In ArcMap, click the Add Data button and in the Add Data dialog, select "GIS Servers"
  2. Select "Add ArcIMS Server"
  3. In the Add ArcIMS Server dialog, the URL you will use is
  4. Click OK to accept. This will close out the Add ArcIMS Server dialog.
  5. You should now see listed in the Add Data dialog. Double click it to display data available.

Hours and Locations