Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
Tip: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.
America: History and Life
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.
Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, materialculture, and interdisciplinary studies.
British Humanities Index (BHI): 1962-Current: Index to (1962+) humanities journals and weekly magazines published in Great Britain and other English speaking nations including newspapers in UK.
Dissertations and Theses (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index: Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
Handbook of Latin American Studies, 1935+ Selected, annotated bibliography on Latin America edited by the Library of Congress'sHispanic Division. Alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index, 1970+ Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, &Hispanics in the Unite States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.
Historical Abstracts Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations published since 1954 on the history of the world except for North America covering the time period from 1450 to the present.
Humanities Full Text (2/1984+): Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (1967+): Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A newly incorporated, non-profit research project to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), by creating online bibliographies.
JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.
Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.
PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas This is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
Sociological Abstracts Very useful database particularly for social and ethnic history -- covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
Women's Studies International(1972+) Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes bibliographic records for any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries.