Login to LibApps

COM 263 - Intro to Intercultural Communication: Specialized Indexes & Databases for Cultural Groups

Essential library research tools for intercultural communication
Subjects: Communication

Specialized Indexes & Databases for Cultural Groups

What defines intercultural?   Race?  Religion?  Gender?  Sexuality?  Age?  Income?  Political views? Education level?

Different indexes and databases provide resources related to each and every one of these, and other intercultural identities.

Here are a few of the most important resources available in ASU Library:

Asian Studies
Resources covering all aspects of East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Bibliography of Native North Americans includes primarily journal articles, but also citations for books and government documents, covering American Indian Studies and all disciplines focused on the Indigenous peoples of North America.

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, includingThe Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), Black Literature Index, and Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Black Newspapers Collection (including the Chicago Defender).

Chicano Database

Chicano Database provides access to a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992. Topics covered are class, race, and gender.

Defining Gender Online: 1450-1910

Defining Gender Online provides access to a collection of original documents relating to gender studies from 21 libraries and archives worldwide. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, & poetry. Each section is enhanced with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native American.

Family Studies Abstracts

Covers the major journals in the field of family studies; topics include marriage, divorce, family therapy, children, parenthood, and more.

Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 

Index to Jewish Periodicals

Covers English-language articles, book reviews, and essays from hundreds of periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals, focused on Jewish history and culture as well as contemporary affairs.

Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in women's studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, such as political, economic, and social & cultural issues. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites and web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

Ask a Librarian Chat Widget

Hours and Locations