Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


BME 494/598: Approaches for Innovating in Healthcare Technologies

Course also labelled as HCR598 and SCM 494/591. This guide contains ASU Links for the Library and Internet resources recommended at http://eBiodesign.org. Additional ASU resources are also listed.

Resources for Industry and Market Reports

For Most Industries

  1. ABI/Inform:Data & Reports search 
    Includes Business Monitor International and First Research data.
  2. First Research
  3. Business Insights: Global using the Industries search
  4. Mergent Intellect
    Reports provided by First Research; contains data from Hoover's Online and Million Dollar Directory.

For Major Industry Sectors

  1. Mergent Online
    Click the Report Search tab and select Industry Reports. 
  2. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage:S&P Industry Surveys (1998+)

For Selected Industries

  1. Manufacturing and Distribution USA
  2. Orbis 
    Includes MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) reports.  Click on the Industry Research tab and select the Document Library option.
  3. Mintel Academic Reports
    Note: This version of Mintel is what's available to academic libraries; it does not contain a complete set of Mintel publications.    
  4. Euromonitor: Passport  (1977+)
  5. U.S. Commercial Service: Market Research Library

For Specialized Research Areas

  1. SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network (1993+)
  2. SRDS.com 
    Includes Local Market Audience Analyst.

Resources for Company Information

Listings (aka Directories) 

All Types of Companies/Organizations

  1. Bureau van Dijk Databases:
    1. Mint Global (public and private companies)
    2. Orbis (expert search version of Mint Global)
  2. Business Insights: Global using Company Finder (Gale Business Directories)
  3. Nexis Uni using Company Dossier search form
  4. Mergent Intellect (merger of the former Hoover's Online and Million Dollar databases)
  5. Reference USA (not available at ASU)
    Options: 
    1. Use Mergent Intellect and limit location to U.S.
    2. Use Reference USA via your local Arizona public library or via the Digital Arizona Library
      Usage is limited to Arizona citizens. 
  6. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage (Standard and Poor's Register)
  7. Gale Directory Library (Ward's Business Directory)

Analyses (including SWOT) 

  1. Business Insights: Global 
    Use Advanced Search and select SWOT Reports under Content Type; Reuter’s Research on Demand provides the analyst reports.) 
  2. Nexis Uni 
    See SWOT Search Instructions
  3. Orbis (includes MarketLine and GlobalData Reports)
    Click on the Industry Research tab and select the Document Library option.


B2B (Business to Business) Suppliers 

  1. Kompass
  2. Thomas Registers Online: 
    1. ThomasNet (U.S. and Canada)
    2. Solusource (International)

Financial Information 
Includes annual reports, investment data, and SEC filings 

  1. Bureau van Dijk Databases:
    1. Mint Global (public and private companies)
    2. Orbis (expert search version of Mint Global)
    3. OSIRIS (public companies only, but with credit ratings and more historical financials)
  2. InvestorEdge
  3. Nexis Uni using Company Dossier search form
  4. Mergent Archives (1900+)
    Includes: 
    1. Mergent Historical Annual Reports
    2. Mergent/Moody's Manuals
  5. Mergent Intellect (merger of the former Hoover's Online and Million Dollar databases)
  6. Mergent Online (includes competitor information)
  7. Morningstar Investment Research Center 
  8. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage


Press Releases

The following databases cover "Business Wire" and other sources of press releases. 

  1. ABI/Inform
  2. Business Insights: Global
  3. Lexis/Nexis Academic


Venture Capital

  1. Some commercial sites provide a certain amount of summary data on VC activity for free. Try:
    1. National Venture Capital Association: Recent Statistics & Studies
    2. Preqin: Fund Raising Data for Private Equity, Real estate, Infrastructure
    3. PWC MoneyTree
  2. Sources of IPOs (Initial Public Offerings) are listed on the Securities and Investments library guide. 
  3. Nexis Uni has a SDC (Securities Data Corporation) Mergers and Acquisitions database  
  4. CB Insights has a Venture Capital Database that you can search for free with registration. 

Resources for Business Plans

Websites/Webpages

 

Books and Videos

Business Books

The business books specifically mentioned on the eBiodesign.org site can be loosely categorized as "self-help".   These are the types of books more frequently found in public libraries rather than academic libraries. For each book listed on the eBiodesign.org site (see below), the ASU Library availability is noted.

In general, consider: 

  • Checking the ASU Library's Catalog (or Library One Search database) to find similar books on the same topic.

  • Using the ASU Library's Interlibrary Loan or Borrow It Now services to get a short loan of whateverbook is not availableat ASU.

  • Checking your local public libraries' catalog for these specific titles and others related to the topic.

  • Purchasing a personal copy from Amazon or other bookseller as these titles are inexpensive and may have value outside of this course.


Books Recommended by eBiodesign.org

Business Journal Articles or Web Pages

The following articles were recommended by eBiodesign.org. For more articles on these and other topics, we recommend the ABI/Inform database.

  1. Barry, Katie;  Domb, Ellen; and Slocum, Michael S.   TRIZ—What Is TRIZ?  TRIZ Journal, 2006.
  2. Bond, PattiYour Positioning Statement – The Single Most Important Sentence in Your Marketing Arsenal  Woodside,  December 12, 2013.

  3. Cohen, Richard.  The Narrowing Distribution Funnel: How to Get Your Medical Device to Market.  MDDI,  February 1999.

  4. Porter, Michael E.   How Competitive Forces Shape Strategy.  Harvard Business Review,  March-April 1979.

  5. Thomke, Stefan and Hippel, Eric von.   Customers as Innovators: A New Way to Create Value.  Harvard Business Review, April 2002.

  6. Ulwick, Anthony. Turn Customer Input into Innovation.   Havard Business Review, January 2002.

Although not listed on eBiodesign, another article that may assist you in negotiation, selling or marketing your invention ...

Hours and Locations