This page contains health sciences resources available in the ASU Library. This page contains resources listed on the http://ebiodesign.org/ site as well as additional and alternative resources.
PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Open access searching interface for 'Medline.' Includes references from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.
Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.
More Health Related Research Databases
Food Institute Database - The Food Institute website is a useful source for information related to the food industry whether it's recalls, company profiles, or harvest updates.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts - Covers every aspect of food science, food technology & food-related human nutrition. Indexes worldwide scientific journals, patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, and legislation relating to food science and technology.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse: NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
Physical Education Index - Search to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patients pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physcial education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.
PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
SPORTS Discus - Search a topic to retrieve journal citations and abstracts covering all areas of sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education & training. Full-text contains content from books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and journal & magazine articles.
Academic Search Premier: This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.
Web of Science: Provides access to information about publications in approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals in a broad range of disciplines.
Google Scholar: enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. *Always access Google Scholar via ASU Library for links to full-text from ASU Library subscription resources.
Proquest (LexisNexis) Congressional: U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Proquest Legislative Insight: Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress.
Proquest Statistical Insight: Abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. It includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.
The books listed below are those in the health sciences, medical, and biomedical categories and were recommended by the eBiodesign website. If the item is vailable at the ASU Library the title will lead you to the catalog record. If a title is not linked, this means ASU Library does not own this book.
In general, consider: