Login to LibApps


Scholarly Communication in High Energy Physics (HEP): INSPIRE

Inspire HEP on Twitter

What is INSPIRE?

In High Energy Physics, scholarly communication is accelerated through a primarily preprint culture. INSPIRE is a natural evolution of an almost entirely green open access field and is one of the main Particle Information Resources.

INSPIRE-HEP is an open access digital library for the field of High Energy Physics (HEP). It is the successor of the Stanford Physics Information Retrieval System (SPIRES) database, the main literature database for High Energy Physics since the 1970s.

It’s a collaboration among four major laboratories – CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC – each with specific roles to play. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESYFermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN.

INSPIRE is run collaboratively and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.orgNASA-ADSPDGHEPDATA and other information resources. (inspirehep)

SPIRES: The First US Website

SPIRES started as a bibliographic database SPIRES-HEP in 1974 hosted at SLAC in collaboration with DESY and became remotely accessible in the mid 80's. Several databases - CONF, EXP, INST, HEPNames and JOBS - followed and Fermilab joined the team.

In December 1991 SPIRES became the first web server outside Europe (pictured above), from the start closely related to the arXiv repository.

For High Energy Physics SPIRES-HEP was the reference for publications, covering not only journal articles and preprints but also conference proceedings, technical reports, theses and other 'gray' literature, the value of the information enhanced by thorough proof-reading, keywords and links to the sister SPIRES databases and other information services.

The time-honored SPIRES database suite has in November 2011 been replaced by INSPIRE, which combines the most successful aspects of SPIRES - like comprehensive content and high-quality metadata - with the modern technology of Invenio, the CERN open-source digital-library software. (CERN)

Major Innovations of Inspire

  • Author disambiguation for high-quality profiles and improved search capabilities
  • Faster results
  • Variety of search and display options
  • Detailed record pages
  • Searchable fulltext for all arXiv content
  • Figures and searchable figure captions extracted from recent arXiv articles
  • LHC experimental notes
  • Personalized features (author pages, paper claiming)
  • Fulltext search and snippet display for recent arXiv articles and material from some publishers

Hours and Locations