Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


The Overland Trails and Western Migration

This guide concentrates on the history of western migration in North America with particular emphasis on the Overland Trails

Most Used Databases in North American History

 

America: History and Life Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

 Bibliography of Native North Americans
(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Black Studies Center  Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, includingThe Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), Black Literature Index, and Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Black Newspapers Collection

Chicano Database
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.
 

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1990+    Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) features a full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard.

MLA International Bibliography   The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. 

Proquest Congressional Includes full text (1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

 

 

Evaluating Primary Sources on the Internet

Evaluating Primary Source Sites on the Internet

                    Using Primary Sources on the Web ( from ALA/RUSA)

           How To Read a Primary Source ( from Bowdoin College)  

 Guidelines for Evaluating Historical Websites


Who: Who is the author or sponsor of the website? Is that person or organization named? Is any supporting documentation available?

What: What is the mission or purpose of the website? Is it clearly articulated? What kinds of materials are on the website? Are they properly cited and acknowledged? What is the document format on the web?

Where: Where is the site located? Is there a physical address with phone number and email address for a contact person? Does the site have a .edu, .org, or .com address?

Why: Why does the site exist? Does it have a point of view or opinion? Is it pedagogical or polemic? Does it want something from you?

Ask a Librarian

How to Reach Me

 

Ed is available to assist students with their research needs through the Libraries' dedicated subject liaison program.  Ed is on the Tempe campus.  His office address is Hayden Library, C1T. Telephone: (480) 965-4579 or email: edding@asu.edu-- please feel free to make an appointment  I look forward to seeing you!

Hours and Locations