Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


American History & Studies

This guide provides resources for courses and programs in American History and American Studies

Most Used Databases in North American History

America: History and Life  Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

Bibliography of Native North Americans  (1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Black Studies Center   Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), Black Literature Index, and Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Black Newspapers Collection

Chicano Database (1967+)  Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1990+  Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) features a full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard.

MLA International Bibliography   The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

Proquest Congressional Includes full text  (1789+)  U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

Retrospective Periodical Indexes

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective  Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

Legal Periodicals Petrospective  Retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

Making of America (Cornell University); Making of America (University of Michigan)  (1800-1925 ) Full text of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. These are actually two separate sites with separate resources -- one site is sponsored by The University of Michigan and the other by Cornell University.

Eight Centuries,1106 - 1960 Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text; 
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

Periodicals Index Online, 1665 - 1995 An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in thehumanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890 -1982  Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Covers all subjects and such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, and science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.