Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


American History & Studies

This guide provides resources for courses and programs in American History and American Studies

20th Century US Newspapers

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Arizona Republic  Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see CD-News: Arizona Republic (listed immediately below).

CD News: Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and Arizona Business Gazette (ASU Library workstations only)  (1987 to one month ago or more)  Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette). Date Range: 1987 to one month ago or more. For online access to 1999-current Arizona Republic articles see Arizona Republic (Access World News).

Chicago Tribune  Chicago Tribune (1985-present) indexes each issue thoroughly, covering not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+)  Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

Nexis Uni  Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.

Los Angeles Times, 1985+  This is the current editions of the LA Times back to 1985 and continues the Historical LA Times

NewsBank NewsFile CDROM : Historical Files 1980 - 1998  Provides full text access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. NewsBank Newsfile (1996-1998) which includes full text on the CD and NewsBank Reference Services Plus (1980-1996) which provides citations to the microfiche collection of the full text articles.

Wall Street Journal  (1986+) Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Online Historical Newspapers & Periodicals

19th Century U.S. Newspapers  Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.

African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902  This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online  1841-1902 Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.

The Arizona Digital Newspaper Program  Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records (ASLAPR) created the Arizona Digital Newspaper Program (ADNP) as a base for digitized historic newspapers in Arizona. ASLAPR is continually looking for opportunities to expand the historic newspaper collection in order to provide access to the rich historic resource of Arizona's newspapers. Arizona's first newspaper, The Weekly Arizonian out of Tubac, started publication in 1859. During 1859-1922, newspapers documented the many significant historical events that had an enormous impact on the state and are central to the development and identity of Arizona.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. States included in this essential and invaluable digital repository are: Alabama; Arizona; California; Colorado; District of Columbia; Florida; Hawaii; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Minnesota; Missouri; Montana; Nebraska; New Mexico; New York; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Vermont; Virginia; Washington(state).  For Further information concerning the history of American Newspapers, use the Library of Congress' US Newspaper Directory, 1690 - Present.

Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876  This exceptional resource offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I-II (1857-1877)  (1857-1877) Indexes full-text of Harper's Weekly, probably the only consistent, comprehensive, weekly chronological record of world-wide events of the late 19th century. Covers front-line Civil War reports, the re-election of Lincoln, & Reconstruction.

Pennsylvania Gazette Collection  The Pennsylvania Gazette was considered the paper of record for colonial and revolutionary America. The full text coverage spans the time from significant early eastern colonial expansion (1728) through the first true world war (1763) and then through the Revolution (with the government centered in Philadelphia) and then including the Constitutional Convention and Washington’s two terms. Coverage continues through 1800.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; The New York Times 1851-2003; The Washington Post 1877 - 1990   Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respective years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

Hours and Locations