Skip to main content
Login to LibApps

American History & Studies

This guide provides resources for courses and programs in American History and American Studies

Secondary and Monographic Resources

America: History and Life Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

Arizona and Southwestern Index  Indexes the Arizona, Chicano, Visual Literacy, Univ. Archives, Labriola Center, Child Drama, and Special collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc.  

Arizona Index, (1951 - 1990):  The Arizona Index  brings together all of the citations of all periodicals articles about the state of Arizona.  The Index was maintained in card catalog form, the cards arranged by broad subject.

Arizona State and Local Government Information A guide to Arizona government information at the state, regional, county, and local levels.

 Bibliography of Native North Americans
(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Chicano Database
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.

From Normal School to New American University: A History of the Arizona State University Foundation, 1885-2012:  This ebook  focuses on an integral part of Arizona State University's  history

Primary Resources

American County Histories: Southwestern States:  The Southwest States collection of databases, expands the American County Histories series with the addition of five states: Arizona, Arkansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Published primarily between 1870 and 1923, county histories are a cornerstone of local historical and genealogical research. Of Arizona’s counties four (Mohave, Pima, Yavapai and Yuma) were created in 1864 following the organization of the Arizona Territory in 1862. All but La Paz County were created by the time Arizona was granted statehood in 1912.

American West (ASU Library access only) Based on sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, a unique resource widely regarded as one of the finest collections of Western Americana in existence, this collection includes a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

American Indian History Online  (ASU Library access only) A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.

ArchiveFinder (ASU Library access only)  Archive Finder includes ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland. It is a current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and United Kingdom. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS), along with the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK & Ireland). The archival material noted in this collection ranges from pre-historic to modern. 

Arizona Archives Online  Arizona Archives Online was created as a joint project between Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Arizona. The initial goal is to make finding aids for archival collections at each university accessible and searchable through a single web site. Finding aids from other archival repositories in Arizona will be added in the future, so that eventually researchers can view and search finding aids for nearly all of the archival collections located in Arizona.

 ARIZONA DIGITAL NEWSPAPER PROGRAM   Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records (ASLAPR) created the Arizona Digital Newspaper Program (ADNP) as a base for digitized historic newspapers in Arizona. ASLAPR is continually looking for opportunities to expand the historic newspaper collection in order to provide access to the rich historic resource of Arizona's newspapers. Arizona's first newspaper, The Weekly Arizonian out of Tubac, started publication in 1859. During 1859-1922, newspapers documented the many significant historical events that had an enormous impact on the state and are central to the development and identity of Arizona.

Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922 ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (ASU Library access only)

Arizona Republic   (ASU Library access only) Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see CD-News: Arizona Republic  January 1999 to present

 CD News: Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and Arizona Business Gazette (ASU Library workstations only)  (1987 to one month ago or more) Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette). Date Range: 1987 to one month ago or more. For online access to 1999-current Arizona Republ ic articles see Arizona Republic (Access World News).

Arizona Memory Project  The Arizona Memory Project is an online effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions. This initiative provides the opportunity to view some of the best examples of government documents, photographs, maps, and objects that chronicle Arizona's past and present.

Arizona Sanborn Maps: Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 providing digital access to Sanborn Insurance maps of towns and cities in Arizona.

Colorado Plateau: Canyons, cultures and environmental change "This website provides an introduction to the environmental history of the Colorado Plateau. It summarizes a vast body of research from multiple disciplines"

Hayden Arizona Pioneer Biographies  (1800s) Selected Pioneer Biographies written or compiled by Senator Carl Hayden. Includes data for names listed for the current geographic area of Arizona in the 1860, 1864 & 1870 U.S. Censuses for the Arizona/New Mexico & Arizona territories.

Hayden Papers Database  This database enables fielded text searching of an electronic finding aid to the Senator Carl T. Hayden Papers, which are physically located in the Arizona Collection, Hayden Library, Arizona State University. Senator Hayden's papers comprise 815 boxes of archival materials produced between 1851 and 1979.

Proquest Congressional Includes full text (1789+)(ASU Library access only)  No substantive research on much of Arizona's history can be done without using US congressional documents. Database includes U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.  Also includes the online(full Text) Serial Set; an essential resource for Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Arizona ( and US) history.

Shema Arizona (The Arizona Jewish Historical Society Oral History Project) (1900+) Oral histories conducted by the Arizona Jewish Historical Society. Includes the transcripts

Hours and Locations