Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Engineering Management

Library and Internet Resources for topics in Engineering Management.

Articles (Journal) and Conference Papers

To find articles in journals and papers presented at conferences, use one or more of the following indexing services.

Highly Recommended:

  • EI Compendex (covers all areas of engineering and manufacturing)
  • ABI/Inform  (covers all areas of business)
     

For Related Subject Fields use:

If The ASU Library does not have a copy of the journal article you need, request the article via our Interlibrary Loan service.  The service is free and most articles are scanned and put in your account within 48 hours.  For the fastest "turn-around" time, be sure to include the journal's ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) on the request.

Books

To Find Books in the ASU Library:

  • Use the ASU Library's One Search

    As the name implies, "Library One Search" locates items from across the ASU Library's collections and includes not just books but also articles from scholarly journals, trade magazines and newspapers, chapters from reference books, dissertations/theses, maps, data sets, photographs,  government documents and much more.   New material is being added almost every day. 

    Search titles, keywords or authors in the single search box; an advanced search feature is also available.  When the results list is displayed, use the Content Type option in left column to limit the results to books/e-books.  
     
    • If the book is available in print, clicking on the title will take you to the ASU Library Catalog where you'll in which library the book is located, it's call number and whether it is checked out.   Use the Request on the catalog record to recall a book that is checked out or to have a book shipped to the ASU Library of your choice. 
       
    • If the book is available online, clicking on the title or on the "Full Text" link will take you directly to the book. 

To Find Books In Other Libraries:   
 

 

If the ASU Library doesn't have the book that you need, request the book via our Interlibrary Loan Service.

 

Electronic Books (E-Books):

Many e-books can be found through the ASU Library Catalog.

To limit your search to e-books:

  • After entering your keywords and viewing the results screen
  • Select Full Text Online from the availability subheading on the right hand side and then select Books from the Resource Type heading.

Results will include a link to access the book.

*Many of our electronic books are listed in the catalog however, we also have several e-book collection in which you can use the native search engine for these collections:

ebrary

Books from major publishers in all subject areas.

e-books on EBSCOhost

Books from major publishers in all subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A  collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

IEEEXplore

Full text of many books published by IEEE in addition to journal and conference articles and standards

Knovel
Over 2,000 science and engineering handbooks in which you can find facts, formula and property data.

MyiLibrary

Books from major publishers, organizations and government agencies in all subject areas.

Safari Books Online

Primarily books related to computer programming and other information technology areas.

SpringerLink

Full-text of selected journals, books, book series, and reference works and the Online Archives Collection from science publisher Springer.

Synthesis Digital Library
Innovative online information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science.

Case Studies

Some links to resources where you can find engineering and business case studies:

National Center for Professional & Research Ethics:

NSPE Board of Ethical Review Cases

Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions

Acadia Institute of Case Studies

Journal of "Case Studies in Engineering Failure Analysis"

 

General engineering search engines:

Engineering Village  and/or 

Knovel and use the keywords to find case studies.

Business indexing engines:

ABI/INFORM 

Then from the advanced search if you click on the “Document type” menu you can select case study

Or enter “case study” “case studies” in the keywords.

Business Insights 

Use the link in the upper bar or in the lower righthand corner for case studies or you can alternatively search via keywords.

 

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Finding out about a topic, i.e., the "background" information, before doing literature research will help you increase your vocabulary so that you can search the best, most efficient words and also allow you to recognize appropriate books and journal articles even if the authors do not describe the topic the same way you do. The more you know about a topic, the better you'll be able to focus on a specific aspect that would be appropriate for your paper. Background information may be found in the following types of resources which generally provide a summary:

Business Dictionaries:

General Dictionaries:

Mathematics Dictionaries:

Sci/Tech Dictionaries:

Encyclopedias:

Subject Encyclopedias:

Engineering-related Encyclopedias in the ASU Library include:

Handbooks

Handbooks provide a summary of a specific subject and frequently include data compilations and formulas. Handbooks are also a great place to look for  "quick facts" about a topic.

Knovel
A full text, online collection of over 800 handbooks, data collections, and encyclopedias for science and engineering. This collection includes:

Handbooks in the Libraries

To find handbooks available in the libraries, use the ASU Library's Catalog and do a keyword search for the topic and handbooks; examples:

Patents

A patent is a government grant bestowing certain property rights on the inventor; these rights usually permit the inventor to exclude others from making, using, or selling the invention.

For more information about patents and finding/research patents please see the ASU Library's

Patents Research Guide

For more detailed assistance you may consider consulting the Arizona State Library's 

Patent and Trademark Resource Center

Standards & Codes

For more detailed information about standards at the ASU Library, please see the Standards Guide

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Full text of IEEE standards available in IEEEXplore

ANSI (American National Standards Institute) 

SEMI (semi.org; "global industry association serving the manufacturing supply chain for the micro- and nano-electronics industries")

ISO (International Organization for Standardization) 

 

Search Engines for Standards

IHS Global Engineering

ANSI Search (formerly NSSN)

Tech Street

Codes

US Local Codes (MAD CAD)
Links to online codes for all 50 states plus US Territories; within each state links are provided to websites of county, city, town and jurisdiction agencies and to their respective codes when available online.

Statistical Information

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    "Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."
     
  • Pew Research Center
    "Numbers, facts and trends shaping your world."  Includes information on the following:
    • Polls on Politics, Policy and Media
    • Religion and Public Life
    • Research and Analysis on News Media
    • Internet and Information Technology Trends
    • Latino Trends and Attitudes
    • State Policy and Political News
    • International Opinion Polls
    • Social and Demographic Trends
       
  • Proquest Statistical Insight
    Indexes statistical information produced by the U.S. government, state governments, & selected private organizations (1971-). Includes access to the American Statistics Index (1973-), Statistical Reference Index (1980-), and Index to International Statistics (from 1983-).
     
  • Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIRPI)
    Data on international relations and security; data for armed forces, arms production, military expenditure, population, education, housing and water supply, economics, labor, security, armed conflicts, and human rights.
     
  • ZipWho
    Not associated with the U.S. Census Bureau; database contains U.S. Census data and is searchable by zip code or demographic variable.

Technical Reports

To identify what technical reports exist on a particular topic, use:

 

 

  • Geological Survey (USGS)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Science.gov
    Searches over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites.   Covers all types of government publications in addition to technical reports. 
     
  • Worldwide Science
    A single search interface for freely available English-language documents on the web; participating databases include those from: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, and United States (science.gov).

To find the full text of a specific report:

  • Some technical reports are freely available on the Web at the sponsoring agency's website, try:
    • Using Google or another Internet search engine to find the report either by title, author, or report number
    • Go to the sponsoring agency's website and browse/search the site
       
  • TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library) 
    An ongoing project to digitize technical reports issued prior to 1975.  As of September 2008, mostly NBS (National Bureau of Standards) and some AEC (Atomic Energy Commission) reports were available.  U.S. Bureau of Mines may appear soon. 
     
  • The ASU Library have some technical reports in the collections of Noble Science & Engineering Library (Tempe Campus) and in our Government Documents Department (3rd floor, Hayden Library, Tempe Campus) in either print, microfiche, and/or CD. If the document(s) you need is not on the Web, check for availability by calling either Gov Docs (480-965-3390) or Noble Science & Engineering Library (480-965-2600) or using our Ask a Librarian's service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian.
     
  • If the document(s) you need is not available in the ASU Library, ASU faculty/students may submit an Interlibrary Loan request

Hours and Locations