Skip to main content
Login to LibApps

Classical Studies

Resources relating to Classical Studies with particular emphasis upon the languages, literatures and histories of Greece, Rome and the Ancient World.

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

L'Annee Philologique, 1928+  Its goal is to collect  scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization (authors and texts ; literature ; linguistics ; political, economic, and social history ; attitudes and daily life ; religion ; cultural and artistic life ; law ; philosophy ; science and technology ; and the history of classical studies).

Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, materialculture, and interdisciplinary studies.

ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS (ATLAS Full Text Plus 1949-)
(1949+) American Theological Association Database covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations from journals, essays, and book reviews.

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.  

Humanities Full Text Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications,language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984  Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur(IBZ), 1983+    Covers basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent.

 JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

Periodical Index Online, 1665 - 1995

Philosopher's Index (1940+) Indexes books & journals of philosophy & related inter-disciplinary fields. Covers aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, & metaphysics; & material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion, & science.

Women's Studies International(1972+)  Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

 WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)  
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes bibliographic records for any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. 

Hours and Locations