The Loeb Classical Library: Every work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date, making both navigation and browsing easier. The digital Loeb Classical Library invites you to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations,
Library of Latin Texts (ASU access only) A database of Latin texts that encompasses all periods since the beginning of Latin literature, covering thousands of works and hundreds of authors, 240 BC (Livius Andronicus)- 1960s (Second Vatican Council)
Perseus Project: Greek and Roman Material: A subset of the Perseus Digital Library, allow searches in original greek and roman texts ( search box at the upper right corner).
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) (ASU access only) The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae [TLG] represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. The project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
The Ancient World Image Bank (Flickr group) ISAW uses Flickr to distribute free digital photography related to the ancient world as part of its Ancient World Image Bank initiative. Read more about AWIB here. All AWIB imagery is published under open license, to facilitate scholarly and educational reuse
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum "The database Archivum Corporis Electronicum" allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the CIL research centre, sorted by inscription-number." ASU Library also holds the print volumes of the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum( catalog record ).
ARTstor Digital Library The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design aswell as many other forms of visual culture.
Jacoby Online Jacoby Online is one of the the most authoritative resources for the study of ancient Greek historians. It comprises 1) Felix Jacoby’s monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker I-III; 2) Brill’s New Jacoby, a new English edition of FgrHist I-IIII; 3) Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker IV, and 4) Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker V
New Pauly Online Brill's New Pauly covers the Greco-Roman culture and its interactions with and influence on the Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic cultures and the three Abrahamic religions: ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online (SEG) Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) collects newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included. SEG presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. Inscriptions are listed by their provenance.
Patrologia Latina, 200 - 1216 Contains works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian to the death of Pope Innocent III. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus & indexes.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae [TLG] represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. The project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Evaluating Primary Source Sites on the Internet
Using Primary Sources on the Web ( from ALA/RUSA)
Evaluating Primary Sources ( From American Memory)How To Read a Primary Source ( from the University of Iowa)
Guidelines for Evaluating Historical Websites
Who: Who is the author or sponsor of the website? Is that person or organization named? Is any supporting documentation available?
What: What is the mission or purpose of the website? Is it clearly articulated? What kinds of materials are on the website? Are they properly cited and acknowledged? What is the document format on the web?
Where: Where is the site located? Is there a physical address with phone number and email address for a contact person? Does the site have a .edu, .org, or .com address?
Why: Why does the site exist? Does it have a point of view or opinion? Is it pedagogical or polemic? Does it want something from you?