Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Classical Studies

Resources relating to Classical Studies with particular emphasis upon the languages, literatures and histories of Greece, Rome and the Ancient World.

Web Resources in Classical Studies

Suggested Web Resources

Ancient World Open Bibliographies Wiki This page is used for collecting links to existing open-access bibliographies that fit the scope of the project.  Current topics include: Classical Antiquity; Near East and Egypt; Comparative Mythology; Pre-Classical Greece; Africa and the Mediterranean; Hindu Civilization.

Bibliotheca Classica Selecta - Accueil:  BCS  is an introduction to classical studies, mainly intended for students of Classics and Ancient History, incidentally all those interested in the ancient Greco-Roman world and civilizations that surround it.  (English translation of the original French.  Resource is in French with a possible Google translation to English)

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations:  The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.

 Electronic Resources for Classicists:   One of the most complete mega-sites for a compilation of classical studies resources.  Created and compiled by Maria Pantelia, Professor of Classics, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae®,
University of California, Irvine

Gnomon Online Bibliographische Datenbank  A word cloud bibliography for Classical Studies

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook (1300s+) Provide links to the full text of primary and related sources in ancient history.   

Nestor: Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. It is published monthly from September to May (each volume covers one calendar year) by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati.  The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey.

Perseus Digital Library  Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.

TOCS-IN:(Table of Contents of Interest to Classicists)  TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.  The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and nearly 100,000 articles

Hours and Locations