Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Classical Studies

Resources relating to Classical Studies with particular emphasis upon the languages, literatures and histories of Greece, Rome and the Ancient World.

Citing Sources

   


For an automated service to help format your citations, try:
Son of Citation Machine

from the Landmark Project.  It is very easy to use and accurate. 


This is a very comprehensive web page from Duke University Libraries entitled: Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper.

I particularly like it because it includes examples for both the major formats of citable materials and the respective style manual citations

Citation-related Library Guides

Citation Management Tools  This guide includes information about citation management tools, or applications used to organize your references, generate bibliographies, and collaborate with others.

Citation Research  How to find citation counts for your publications and how to find journal rankings such as impact factors.

Citation Styles Help with different citation styles including how to format citations.  APA; MLA; Chicago; Turabian

Guide to Setting Up and Using RefWorks

 

How to Create a RefWorks Account

About RefWorks 

RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to create and manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles. More information about RefWorks

Accessing RefWorks

Use of RefWorks requires users to sign up for an individual account at their Website. Keep your Refworks UserID and password handy, and always authenticate from off-campus by entering through the ASU authentication page. First-time users must subscribe for an individual account from this page before accessing your citation management software.

Keep your UserID and password safe! ASU does not have access to the RefWorks system to reset passwords. If you lose your password, follow the reset link on the authentication page.

Create your own RefWorks account now.

Creating Your Citations Database

Once logged into RefWorks, there are a number of ways to enter your citations:

  • manually via the RefWorks References menu
  • automatically via most ASU Library online resources: follow the RefWorks online help for each of the direct-import vendor resources supported. The list of currently supported databases and import instructions for each vendor resource is available from the RefWorks site Help Index (Building Your Database, Importing from a Text File, Exporting from a Data Service).
  • ASU Library online catalog entries can be searched and added to your citations database directly from the RefWorks Search menu.
  • imported from other citation software formats via the Help Index (Building Your Database, Converting from Other Bibliographic Management Programs).

Hours and Locations