Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Classical Studies

Resources relating to Classical Studies with particular emphasis upon the languages, literatures and histories of Greece, Rome and the Ancient World.

eJournals - Full Text

Cambridge Journals Online  Full-text to entire Cambridge University Press journals package

De Gruyter Online  An integrated comprehensive research portal for access to primary sources, text collections, reference works, and bibliographies across multiple disciplines.

Oxford Journals  Oxford University Press Journal Package

Project Muse  (1990+) Provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

SAGE Premier  SAGE Premier includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine, providing online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals.

ebook packages

ACLS Humanities Ebook  The ACLS Humanities EBook is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan?s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians.

Cambridge Histories Online  A truly fantastic site to gain historical context and overview for a very wide variety of historical eras, areas, topics and subjects.  This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content,Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

Hathi Trust:   HathiTrust is a collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. It is an emerging repository which has collection spans over several centuries, and in hundreds of languages.

The Online Books Page  This website collects links to major general and specialized online book collections.  Well worth exploring if you're having trouble tracking down e-books or online monographic collections

Past Masters ( ASU Access only) One of the largest full-text humanities databases in the world. Includes definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence ranging from ancient Greece to the late 19th century.

eReference Collections

Book Review Index Online Plus (1965+) A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

Brill Online Reference Works  This platform is the access point for several encyclopedias published by Brill, including the Encyclopedia of Islam, Encyclopedia of Hinduism, Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures, and New Pauly. Each of these electronic works may also be accessed via the Catalog.

Cambridge Histories Online: Cambridge Histories Online provides full text online access to the complete volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Of particular interest is the   Cambridge History of Classical Literature , The Cambridge Ancient History, and the   Cambridge World History of Slavery vol 1: The Ancient Mediterranean World

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library  a searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Oxford Classical Dictionary  The Oxford Classical Dictionary is an unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world.

 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in any walk of life.  A must use resource for any history of Britain and its peoples.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History  The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History  The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, captures the experiences of women throughout history. It contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.

Oxford English Dictionary  Regarded as the most authoritative & comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, & the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

 

Counter The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages/ edited by Roger D. Woodard. P371 .C357 2004

Encyclopedia of ancient Greece / Nigel Wilson, editor.  DF16 .E52 2006

 

Database of Latin Dictionaries(ASU Access only): The Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) integrates different types of Latin dictionaries, to build in links between these different tools. Where the dictionaries provide Latin terms and vernacular equivalents or explanations (whether in contemporary or historic forms of English, French or German), searches will be possible on both the Latin lemmata and the English, French or German lemmata.

Hours and Locations