Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Environmental History

Resources relevant to the historical study of our environment with an emphasis on North America

Most Used Databases

 Agricola 1970+  AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, etc

America: History and Life Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

 Bibliography of Native North Americans
(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

CAB Abstracts Archive  CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. The collection includes the complete index for years 1913 to 1972 and incomplete access to current content.

The Ecological Society of America Publications   ESA  publishes  significant results of ecological research, particularly those that increase the understanding and applications of general ecological concepts; publishes research results that employ theoretical, modeling, analytical, experimental, observational, synthetic, historical, and descriptive approaches, including those of allied natural and social sciences; publishes articles that are accurate, clear, and concise, while providing supplementary information in accessible, digital formats; publishes a suite of journals, in suitable forms, that address the interests of all appropriate readers.

Environment Complete  Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database includes over 2 million records from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s. 

 
GreenFILE  1970+ GreenFILE provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environment from a variety of perspectives. Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management.
 

Proquest Congressional Includes full text (1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

 

 

Retrospective Periodical Indexes

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective  Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 Retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile 1787 - 1922   (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period. ( Primarily U.S. Periodicals and resources)

 Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890 -1982 

Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.

Hours and Locations