Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Environmental History

Resources relevant to the historical study of our environment with an emphasis on North America

Primary Sources on Environmental History

Calisphere  More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California.

Colorado Plateau: Canyons, cultures and environmental change "This website provides an introduction to the environmental history of the Colorado Plateau. It summarizes a vast body of research from multiple disciplines"

Online Archive of California. An excellent site that provides access to several important California collections covering among other topics the Free Speech Movement, Japanese-American Relocation, and California oral histories.

The Palace of the Governors Photo Archives: The Palace of the Governors Photo Archives contains an estimated 1,000,000 items including historic photographic prints, cased photographs, glass plate negatives, film negatives, stereographs, photo postcards, panoramas, color transparencies, and lantern slides. This important collection includes material of regional and national significance, dating from approximately 1850 to the present, covering subject matter that focuses on: the history and people of New Mexico and the expansion of the West

Regional Oral History Office - UC-Berkeley  As a division of The Bancroft Library, the Regional Oral History Office preserves the history of the San Francisco Bay Area, California, and the Western United States. By conducting carefully researched, tape-recorded, and transcribed interviews, ROHO creates archival oral histories intended for the widest possible use.

 

 

Primary Sources on the WWW

Primary Source Sites on the Internet


Environmental History


Archives & Primary Sources - General

Alaska's Digital Archives:  Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout the state.


American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library.  A rapidly growing collection of documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures and maps. Some of the collections now available are: Pioneering Women; African American Perspectives; California Gold; Civil War Photographs; America in the Great Depression; and many others in the Library of Congress.

American West  Based on sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, a unique resource widely regarded as one of the finest collections of Western Americana in existence, this collection includes a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

American Westward Migration  From the Marriott Library Collections, University of Utah.  Diaries, maps and trails of Mormon pioneers and their westward migration in the 1850s. Diaries include Joseph C. Kingsbury, George A. Thomas, John B. Fairbanks, Joseph A. Young, and Lucia Lamb Everett.

Colorado Plateau: Canyons, cultures and environmental change "This website provides an introduction to the environmental history of the Colorado Plateau. It summarizes a vast body of research from multiple disciplines"

Mountain Men and the Fur Trade: "These documents are accounts of the Rocky Mountain fur trade during the first half of the 19th century. Most of these are either primary or secondary historical sources, and have been transcribed from printed or manuscript form."

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) The National Archives web site includes descriptions of NARA facilities; copies of publications such as finding aids; and some Federal records regulations. The agency is working to improve access to the contents of the archives and this site should become increasingly valuable.

Perry-Casteneda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of the United States. The categories used by the University of Texas map library are early inhabitants, exploration and settlement, U.S. territorial growth, later historical periods, military history, historical maps of Texas and U.S. cities, and national historic sites. There is a link to other map sites.

 


 

 


 

Hours and Locations